Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RPC usage in animations

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Kroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Redmond, OR
    Posts
    446
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default RPC usage in animations

    I used some RPC trees in an animation I did, but they appear to act as billboards and don't rotate with the camera as I animate. Is this because there are multiple cameras or is it just that PRCs suck for animations and I should use actual 3d models for trees?

    Look at the tree in the bottom right, it's 'thin'. Several 'dissapeard' as I flew by them as I was looking at the thin side view of the face.

    Should I toss the whole RPC tree thing and just use created 3d trees?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: RPC usage in animations

    RPCs are meant to be used in renderings not in animations. Most people are very happy with them for that purpose. The problem with using them in an animation (as you saw) was keeping the object in 3D.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,337
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: RPC usage in animations

    If I remember correctly you can map those RPC folks to a
    mask, and then tell that mask to always face the camera
    thus substituting 2d maps for 3d objects to keep the file
    size small. And only increase the polygon count using a real tree
    when the tree is the hero of the shot.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Kroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Redmond, OR
    Posts
    446
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: RPC usage in animations

    Quote Originally Posted by mjfarrell
    If I remember correctly you can map those RPC folks to a
    mask, and then tell that mask to always face the camera
    thus substituting 2d maps for 3d objects to keep the file
    size small. And only increase the polygon count using a real tree
    when the tree is the hero of the shot.
    Yeah, that's what I thought too...but with so many cams flying around, I think it gets confused...

    RPCs are definately NOT the right tool for animations so I've learned....thanks for the input....

    carrion

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: RPC usage in animations

    Hi,
    try a Look At controller, so the trees rotate with the camera and always faces it. That should solve the problem.
    robert

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: RPC usage in animations

    RPCs are OK to be used in animations. You should be able to fly through them and see them without a problem from any angle.

    There are some types of RPC objects that are 2D only, but most people are 3D.

    I have used RPC extensivelly with animation since VIZ 3 with no problems. Just do not abuse adding hundreds of them, since they're memory hungry.

    Alexander

Similar Threads

  1. Creating Animations - need help
    By alouder in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-07-07, 01:52 PM
  2. embedding animations
    By amcdonald.135877 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-03-29, 07:34 AM
  3. Merging Animations
    By stusic in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-07-20, 07:18 PM
  4. Rendering Animations to HD
    By stusic in forum DV - The 3rd Dimension
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-16, 04:57 AM
  5. Creating Animations....
    By jgray004 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-08-16, 07:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •