Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Globally convert text to mtext

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Globally convert text to mtext

    Does anyone know of a routine that will globally convert text to mtext?

    There are well over a hundred strings of text in this one particular drawing that need to be converted into individual mtext entities. I'd rather not have to select each text string to convert.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen.Walz
    Does anyone know of a routine that will globally convert text to mtext?

    There are well over a hundred strings of text in this one particular drawing that need to be converted into individual mtext entities. I'd rather not have to select each text string to convert.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Steve
    If you scroll down, you will see a similar threads tool; there are few threads listed there that might help you.

  3. #3
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,463
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    According to R.K.McSwain in this thread, convert all text to mtext, there is a Third Party Solution.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    What about a routine that converts back and forth?

    Wouldn't that be worth more?

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,754
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    What about a routine that converts back and forth?

    Wouldn't that be worth more?
    MTEXT to TEXT can be done using ._EXPLODE
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to kpblc2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    212
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    For transformation text in mtext it is possible to take advantage Exress Tools - txt2mtxt. It is possible also variant of the decision to make...
    Use AUTOCAD / ADT / AA 2006 / 2008 / 2010
    All i say is only my opinion
    I'm watching you! Your

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    MTEXT to TEXT can be done using ._EXPLODE
    I hear you 100% however I still think a routine would be more appropriate.
    The routine could be set to automatically grab all text objects.

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,463
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    I hear you 100% however I still think a routine would be more appropriate.
    The routine could be set to automatically grab all text objects.
    You may want to adjust that a bit to MTEXT objects.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    I hear you 100% however I still think a routine would be more appropriate.
    The routine could be set to automatically grab all text objects.
    I would think that would be easy enough to create - but it's just as easy to do a qselect of all mtext and explode 'em that way too ~shrug~

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict kennet.sjoberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Posts
    1,707
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Globally convert text to mtext

    . . . and to reverse ? ?
    that is the sticky task. . .

    : ) Happy Computing !

    kennet

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Field to Text within Block Globally
    By OCD in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 2018-07-29, 02:35 AM
  2. Convert Mtext to Text
    By MikeJarosz in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-08-30, 09:13 PM
  3. convert all text to mtext
    By c_rado in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-12-03, 11:15 PM
  4. AutoCAD LT 2006 - Convert Text to MText?
    By flansburg in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-03-07, 07:59 AM
  5. Vl commands to convert text to Mtext
    By ccowgill in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-03-03, 06:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •