See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    Hey, I am looking for some help.

    Trying to write a script that changes my layer properties

    change layer a to layer b
    change layer c to layer d

    also, if possible, would like to change the colours of the layers!

    Thanks for any help!

    Travis

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,773
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    If you want a script, just type what you want at the command line and that's the text you need for your script. Just save it to a text file using Notepad, but with an scr extention. Its best to use a version of a command that doesn't use a dialog box, because when you hand control over to the user, your script looses control. To access the no-dialog version of a command, precede the command name with a dash, e.g. "-LAYER".
    Last edited by Ed Jobe; 2006-12-04 at 06:45 PM.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    I just forgot how to do this! I saw one of the instructors a AU do it, and I am trying to figure out the steps that he used, cause it aint workin for me!

    Thanks for your response and any help!

    Travis

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,773
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    I think you need the RENAME command.
    Code:
    -rename la a b
    Last edited by Ed Jobe; 2006-12-04 at 06:50 PM.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,280
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Talking Re: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe
    I think you need the RENAME command.
    Code:
    -rename la a b
    This is what I think your simple script would look like.
    This rename layer "a" to layer "c" and changes the color to "5"
    this assumes you don't already have a layer "c"

    Code:
    -rename
    layer
    a
    c
    -layer
    color
    5
    c
    Good luck

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Change Layer names to other Layer names via a script?

    Thanks so much, thats exactly it!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2010-03-24, 05:13 AM
  2. change layer names
    By arcelm_m in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-03-21, 10:44 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-05-30, 02:02 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-01-09, 06:39 AM
  5. Using Layer names with spaces in them, inside of a Script
    By amy.chen in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-06, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •