See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Location
    Lake Charles, La.
    Posts
    277
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    how do you change the setting that automatically brings up the dialog box to select a template? i'd like to start a new dwg w/o using a template, but everytime i click on New Drawing it keeps prompting me to select a template.
    Last edited by cwjean76; 2006-12-08 at 04:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    in options on the files tab, you can scroll down to template settings and specify a template to use for qnew, then just use qnew from then on instead of new.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Autodesk Expert Elite
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2020
    Windows 10

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    Hey,

    Type: Filedia and set to 1. Hope this is waht you need.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Location
    Lake Charles, La.
    Posts
    277
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    i guess i need to specify. the dialog boxes are fine. i just don't want ACAD prompting me to select a template.

  5. #5
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    Hi cwjean76 (sorry I don't know your name)

    First I have to qualify this answer since I use ABS but I think it's the same in vanilla CAD.

    Couple of thoughts. If you use the QNEW command instead of the NEW command a new drawing will be created using the default template specified in:

    OPTIONS - FILE - Template Settings - Default Template File Name for QNEW

    You can accomplish this several ways:
    1. The icon for new drawings is already set to QNEW so and can just start a new drawing using the icon.
    2. Type QNEW instead of NEW when starting a new drawing.
    3. Edit your File - New menu to QNEW instead of NEW
    Hope this helps.
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Location
    Lake Charles, La.
    Posts
    277
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    thanks stelthorst. you pointed me in the right direction. i found this after i searched for QNEW(the command still prompted me for a template file, by the way) :

    Use the Create New Drawing Dialog Box
    The Create New Drawing dialog box is displayed under the following conditions:

    You set the STARTUP system variable to 1 (on).
    You set the FILEDIA system variable to 1 (on).
    You click New on the File menu or Qnew on the Standard toolbar when no drawing template file is specified in the Options dialog box.
    ______________________________________________________________________

    Use the Select Template Dialog Box
    The Select Template dialog box is displayed under the following conditions:

    You set the STARTUP system variable to 0 (off).
    You set the FILEDIA system variable to 1 (on).
    You click New on the File menu or, by default, Qnew on the Standard toolbar.

  7. #7
    Active Member rgorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    66
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    You need to set QNEW to look for a specific file.

    It's in the "Files/Template Settings/Default Template File name for QNEW"

    You can create a template that mimics a 'start from scratch' condition and have it load each time. Save it where Acad looks for all it's templates.

  8. #8
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start a new DWG without selecting a Template

    Quote Originally Posted by rgorman
    You need to set QNEW to look for a specific file.

    It's in the "Files/Template Settings/Default Template File name for QNEW"

    You can create a template that mimics a 'start from scratch' condition and have it load each time. Save it where Acad looks for all it's templates.
    Sorry guys. I said that in my original post but I should have been more clear that if a template file is not specified in this location then the dialog box will still come up in QNEW. I had one already specified and ASSUMED (shouldn't do that) that a template is specified by default.
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

Similar Threads

  1. Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).
    By civil3Dguide in forum Civil 3D Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-08-12, 12:17 AM
  2. Start-up Metric Template
    By Jack Cheong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-23, 11:31 AM
  3. MEP Template files-Where to start?
    By Liamnacuac in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-26, 12:54 PM
  4. Start Revit Without Template
    By tmomeyer in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-09-10, 08:51 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-02-27, 08:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •