Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

    Hi

    I can't insert some tiff images as they are the wrong compression type. I used to be able to convert them using the image viewer that came with WinNT. But now I use XP and I can't find a way of converting them. Is there any software out there for converting a tif from one type to another.

    Regards

    Dec

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time arshiel88's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Off the Grid
    Posts
    560
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

    Photoshop can do this. Uncompressed TIF is the safest way in using TIF files but expect it to be a large one.
    If Photoshop is not available, MSPaint can open and save TIF files. I'm just not sure if the output is uncompressed. If not, just save it as .jpg file and you shouldn't have any problem in inserting it in AutoCAD.

    Shielbern Bolalin
    Architectural 3D Renderer
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    “A clever person solves a problem. A wise person avoids it.”

    1879-1955

  3. #3
    100 Club Kevin.Sturmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    166
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

    I ahve not tried any of these (I use Photoshop) but here is a link to some free image conversion software. caveat emptor
    If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of children's fishing poles.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,693
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

    Quote Originally Posted by dguinan
    Hi

    I can't insert some tiff images as they are the wrong compression type.
    Do you get an error messing saying so, or is this a best guess? If the latter, there are other reasons why certain images won't load. See http://rkmcswain.blogspot.com/2006/0...iff-files.html for pointers to a couple of articles.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"

    If you don't have Photoshop, I would highly recommend giving the GIMP a try. Similar in many ways to Photoshop in usability and capabilities, and best of all its free and open source. I've only used it on linux, but I would expect the windows version to be equally worth the cost.

    http://www.gimp.org/
    Last edited by architecture68-raff; 2007-01-10 at 08:05 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around
    By invaderkyle in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-04-10, 03:23 PM
  2. 2012: error "drawing file is not valid"
    By fmorton318502 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-10-07, 02:23 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-09-09, 12:00 AM
  4. "drawing file not valid"
    By jlizann in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-17, 08:54 AM
  5. AutoCAD 2005 TIFF Image files - Image file not valid
    By richard_hamilton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-30, 11:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •