Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Hi Everyone

    I am making stencil for sheet of metal- (letters have to be brushed ).

    Does anybody know how to explode text in AutoCAD so I can have outlines only?
    Thank you.
    Sonia

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,105
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    You can use the Explode Text tool in the Express Tools Menu.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Quote Originally Posted by sstadnyk2002
    Hi Everyone

    I am making stencil for sheet of metal- (letters have to be brushed ).

    Does anybody know how to explode text in AutoCAD so I can have outlines only?
    Thank you.
    Sonia
    If for some reason you don't have access to the Express Tools, you can use WMFOUT and WMFIN to do the same thing.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    50
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    If for some reason you don't have access to the Express Tools, you can use WMFOUT and WMFIN to do the same thing.
    how does this wmfout and wmfin do to explode text into outlines?

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Quote Originally Posted by vince.59412
    how does this wmfout and wmfin do to explode text into outlines?
    Do you mean "what it the procedure?" or "how does it do it?"

    If the former, run the WMFOT command, pick the text, give it a file name. Run the WMFIN command, pick the file, pick the UL of the viewport as the insertion point, then scale 2X.

    If the latter, it's because WMF format only supports vectors, so the "text" is converted to polylines and/or lines.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Posts
    46
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Try creating your text in word and then paste special into autocad. Its great for making some funky fonts and you can use the outline of the text.

  7. #7
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    196
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Won't the textfill system variable do what Sonia's looking for?

    From Help:
    Controls the filling of TrueType fonts while plotting and rendering.

    0 Displays text as outlines

    1 Displays text as filled images

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Quote Originally Posted by jgrande26
    Won't the textfill system variable do what Sonia's looking for?

    From Help:
    Controls the filling of TrueType fonts while plotting and rendering.

    0 Displays text as outlines

    1 Displays text as filled images

    That will help with display of the text but won't give useable acad entities for manufacturing a template.

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time Avatart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Upsidedown in dreamtown
    Posts
    928
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    Also, if you have a copy of Adobe's Illustrator, you can make the text look exactly as you want it and then DXF it out to AutoCad.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Explode Text into outlines in AutoCAD LT

    I do not have access to Express Tools, and I don't have Adobe Illustrator but wmfout works!.
    Thank you very much for your help.
    Sonia

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Explode Mtext to Text
    By CADfunk MC in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-01-30, 04:06 PM
  2. Explode Text??
    By ty_demo15 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-03-12, 02:07 PM
  3. Explode text
    By pgastelum77763 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-09-26, 11:02 PM
  4. Convert / Explode Text into geometry
    By lightnerbe in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-05-23, 04:47 AM
  5. Text Explode Problem
    By Shoey in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2005-10-05, 04:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •