See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

  1. #1
    Active Member bbambu's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    51
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Just curious is there are many MAC users out there that work with ABS or Revit. I remember seeing at least one person that used an Apple. I wanted to know how well Autodesk products performed with Virtual PC.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict hand471037's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Oakland, California
    Posts
    1,934
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by bbambu
    Just curious is there are many MAC users out there that work with ABS or Revit. I remember seeing at least one person that used an Apple. I wanted to know how well Autodesk products performed with Virtual PC.
    I can't say anything about Virtual PC. However, if you buy a recent (Intel-based) Mac and install Parallels so that you can run Windows and OS X side-by-side it works very well. I just got my MacBookPro, and am running Revit this way, and it's working surprisingly well. It doesn't run quite as fast as it would on Windows XP alone, but the Core 2 Duo is so fast that so far I haven't even noticed the difference (unless I run out of memory, then it bogs, so I wouldn't use it on a big project).

    Also, with the new Intel-based Macs, you can also use something called Boot Camp to simply boot into Windows XP. Then running Revit is no different than on my old Dell M90 (and actually seems to be faster, but I think this might be due to the Core 2 Duo and better drivers from Apple...)

    From one deranged robot dressed up like a dog to another...

  3. #3
    Active Member bbambu's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    51
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Thanks for the input. My boss was thinking about purchasing me a business tool (lap top) for when I start traveling and I was hoping I might be able to persuade him into buying a MacBook rather than a Dell. Cost may be an issue, and Pro is a little expensive. Is it necessary to have a MacBook Pro in order to run the above mentioned programs?


    "It's not stupid... It's advanced!" -Almighty Tallest
    Last edited by bbambu; 2007-01-15 at 07:13 PM.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Hi

    The following thread may also be of some interest...

    Revit running on a macbook pro

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    Active Member bbambu's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    51
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Clicking on links is like falling down a rabbit hole.
    Looked at Parallels, turns out in addition to being able to run Windows I could also run Linux along with a few other OSes. That's freakin' awesome!

  6. #6
    Active Member powermarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    52
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Apple MAC compatible with ABS or Revit

    Just remember that to run Boot Camp or Parallels with Windows, you need an Intel-based Mac. If your boss is tempted to buy an older PowerBook that uses the G4 chip, you won't be able to run Windows. (Not quickly, anyway.)

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Apple vs PC for Revit
    By ROBP-RDS in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2014-01-10, 06:27 PM
  2. Revit Native For Apple/Mac
    By ArchitortureIntern in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2013-01-16, 10:00 PM
  3. Compatible nodes to Revit
    By Serhan_BAKIR in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-02-29, 10:18 PM
  4. Revit and Civil3D compatible?
    By Maverick91 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-29, 03:49 PM
  5. Revit for Apple's OS X (formerly An old but long overdue wish)
    By dazza163968596 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 2004-09-18, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •