See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74

Thread: AutoCAD Speak

  1. #11
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,096
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    Sow do I make this say, "Good day to you sir, today we are going to conquer the world!"
    when I first open AutoCad?
    Add Terry's last post to your ACAD.LSP file. Then add the following at the end or at least after Terry's code.
    Code:
    (SayIt "Good day to you sir, today we are going to conquer the world!")
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  2. #12
    AUGI Addict .T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,473
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    You can change the voice in Control Panel under Speech, also...

    Does anyone know if you can download and install other voices?

  3. #13
    AUGI Addict kennet.sjoberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-05
    Posts
    1,707
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: AutoCAD Speak

    I cud not resists doing this…

    Copy and paste the first code into AutoCADs command window
    Command: _
    Code:
    (vl-load-com)
    (setq Command_Start_Reactor (vlr-editor-reactor nil '((:vlr-commandWillStart . Command_Start_Function ))) )
    (defun Command_Start_Function (ObjReactor Command-In / )
      (vlax-invoke (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice" ) "Speak" (car Command-In ) 0 )
      (vlax-release-object (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice" ) )
    )
    Now draw lines, arcs, circles . . . in AutoCAD, and hear what you are going to do. . .


    To remove the voice, copy and paste next code into AutoCADs command window
    Command:_
    Code:
    (vlr-remove Command_Start_Reactor )
    (setq Command_Start_Function nil Command_Start_Reactor nil )
    : ) Happy Computing !

    kennet
    Last edited by kennet.sjoberg; 2007-01-18 at 11:58 PM.

  4. #14
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    I think we should implement at network wide distribution of this routine so that every time someone starts autocad the computer responds by saying:

    "good morning Hal"

    Peter

  5. #15
    100 Club jpduhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Quote Originally Posted by timcreary
    You can change the voice in Control Panel under Speech, also...

    Does anyone know if you can download and install other voices?
    I found the MS Mike and MS Mary for download with a Google search but I think that if you want additional voices you need to purchase a seperate speech driver first.

  6. #16
    100 Club jpduhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Quote Originally Posted by peter
    I think we should implement at network wide distribution of this routine so that every time someone starts autocad the computer responds by saying:

    "good morning Hal"

    Peter
    Did that right after Ed's post. No one has found it yet.

    "You've enjoyed all the power you've been given, haven't you? I wonder how you'd take to working in a pocket calculator."

    10 points if you can name the movie without looking it up.

  7. #17
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    466
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Wow dude that is awsome!
    I had to use Microsoft Agent for one of my apps.
    I wounder if there is any speech recognition built in so one could converse with autocad.

  8. #18
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,397
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Quote Originally Posted by timcreary
    You can change the voice in Control Panel under Speech, also...

    Does anyone know if you can download and install other voices?
    I found this site for MS voices. This site has some really clear, easy to understand voices.
    Last edited by Ed Jobe; 2007-01-19 at 12:27 AM.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  9. #19
    AUGI Addict .T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,473
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe
    I found this site.
    Thanks, Ed.

    I'll check it out in a bit.


  10. #20
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Posts
    277
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD Speak

    Hi Terry,
    I just test your code,but my cad only silence,what wrong?

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry Cadd
    This thread was started on TheSwamp, http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=14549.0, and you guys might have fun with it also.
    Code:
    (defun c:SayIt (/ Phrase$)
      (if (setq Phrase$ (getstring "\nEnter phrase: " t))
        (progn
          (setq sapi (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice"))
          (vlax-invoke sapi "Speak" Phrase$ 0)
          (vlax-release-object sapi)
        );progn
      );if
      (princ)
    );defun c:SayIt

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 04:03 PM
  2. Speak 4 cad
    By maa in forum Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-06-30, 12:13 PM
  3. speak to autocad
    By jaberwok in forum Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-11-09, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •