Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

  1. #1
    Active Member marble's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Cincy
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    OK, I just installed Autodesk Civil 3D on my computer. So far I like it. HOWEVER my Acad.pgp did not migrate over, and going though the Start Menu > Programs > Auodesk > Autodexk Civil 3D 2007 > there is no Migrate Custom Settings. Argh!

    How would I fix this? Is it an easy fix? Do I have to redo just about everything? I tried to copy it over no good.

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Assuming you put your additions at the end of the old pgp file, just to cut and paste them into the new one should work I'd have thought.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,681
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    You copied it over to where? Did you REINIT the PGP file afterwards? Or restart Civil 3D?

    How did you originally modify your PGP file? Did you place your desired changes at the end of the file?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #4
    Active Member marble's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Cincy
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Thanks for getting back to me

    I copied the file to the C:\Program Files\Autodesk Civil 3D 2007\Support directory. I did the Reint - that did not work. I also restarted Civil 3D - no good. When I did a search for the "NEW" *.PGP file it found none. Yea all new modifications where at the end.

  5. #5
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,681
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Is it named acad.pgp in Civil 3d? Try copying the following code to the command prompt and see what it returns.
    Code:
    (findfile "acad.pgp")
    Replace the filename if different.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Quote Originally Posted by mike.poggemann
    Thanks for getting back to me

    I copied the file to the C:\Program Files\Autodesk Civil 3D 2007\Support directory. I did the Reint - that did not work. I also restarted Civil 3D - no good. When I did a search for the "NEW" *.PGP file it found none. Yea all new modifications where at the end.
    The pgp file is no longer put in the Program Files folder.
    In vanilla acad the default location is C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2007\R17.0\enu\Support.
    Look for it under the "Autodesk" branch.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  7. #7
    Active Member marble's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Cincy
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    I can get to the Cocuments and SettingsUSERNAME directory and that is as far, and our IT guy is gone till tomorrow. I willl get with him about some of this.

    Thanks guys

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,681
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Quote Originally Posted by mike.poggemann
    I can get to the C:Documents and SettingsUSERNAME directory and that is as far, and our IT guy is gone till tomorrow. I willl get with him about some of this.

    Thanks guys
    Once you get to the USERNAME directory, try adding the "Application Data\Autodesk\" portion into the address bar. It appears that your system hides files that have the "hidden" and / or "system" file attributes. You can display them through the Windows Explorer under Tools -> Folder Options -> View tab -> Hidden files and folders -> Show hidden files and folders.

    Did the bit of code tell you anything?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Posts
    199
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    I depends on how your IT dept. set up your server and users and how the software was installed. My ADT2006 support files are located on the following path and not in the documents and settings folder on the hard disk.

    Server1Userssteve.jApplication DataAutodeskADT 2006enuSupport

    In your Autodesk software bring up <options> and under the "files" tab of options expand the folder "Support File Search Path" and one of the top items listed should tell you where your software is looking for your "support" folder.

  10. #10
    Active Member marble's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Cincy
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2007 Civil 3D - How to migrate the Acad.pgp file into Civil 3D

    Just want to thank you guys for all of your help.

    Opie as soon as read that I laughed and felt like an idiot. I forgot all about that. It worked.

    Again thanks guys.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-17, 04:53 AM
  2. export revit topography file to ACAD civil for surface profiles
    By arashdailami329306 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-03-06, 04:14 PM
  3. Workspaces from Civil 3D 2007 to Civil 3D 2008
    By a.bygrave in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-05, 10:43 PM
  4. VAB routine working in Civil 3D 2007, but not in Civil 3D 2008
    By Christopher.cornell in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2007-07-12, 05:20 PM
  5. Civil 3D 2007 - How does file structure and standards relate to Civil 3D
    By eleonard in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-22, 06:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •