Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Label coordinates in vanilla AutoCAD?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Posts
    88
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Label coordinates in vanilla AutoCAD?

    Does anyone know a way to label a point with its x & y (i.e. E & N, I'll settle for any order!) coordinates? That is, other than having to type them in with mtext? I am working in a drawing that I would rather not take into Civil 3D. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Label coordinates in vanilla AutoCAD?

    Do a forum search on "fields". It's been discussed before. You make a block with a point or other marker and fields in attributes to hold the values.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Member b.boyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Label coordinates in vanilla AutoCAD?

    Gadjet

    Sorry don't know your name. You can do this using fields. I have attached a copy of a block that I created that works really well for me. It simply returns the x and y values related back to your world origin (It goes without saying that you will need to set your survey up according to your world USC, which you've probably done already).

    Two things to remember, there is a point within the block, make sure you set your point style to something small and legible. The second thing is it only works in the immediate drawing it is inserted into, if you then xref this drawing into another, they wont update (because it is a block).

    Hope it helps, good luck.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    2,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Label coordinates in vanilla AutoCAD?

    Quote Originally Posted by gadjet
    Does anyone know a way to label a point with its x & y (i.e. E & N, I'll settle for any order!) coordinates? That is, other than having to type them in with mtext? I am working in a drawing that I would rather not take into Civil 3D. Thanks!
    Take a look at the 'COORDSEN' lisp in this thread http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=41640

    Edit: its the last post in this thread.
    Last edited by H'Angus; 2007-02-09 at 05:42 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Geometry Label to Plant Coordinates
    By ghines in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Alignments
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-10-21, 06:25 PM
  2. AutoCAD Electrical type Icon Menu in AutoCAD Vanilla !
    By iqbal.ahmad in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-04-15, 05:33 AM
  3. autocad vanilla
    By todd.205268 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-01-09, 02:33 PM
  4. Can Map be used as vanilla AutoCAD?
    By mark.81576 in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-04-01, 02:06 PM
  5. Your Favorite VANILLA AutoCad Add-Ons
    By madcadder in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2005-10-06, 01:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •