Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: xrefs - how much is too much?

  1. #1
    100 Club jpduhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default xrefs - how much is too much?

    wow!

    A user just came to me panicking about his CAD file. I took a look and noticed all the xrefs loading... and they just seemed to keep loading.

    When it finally opened I saw what is shown in the image below.

    So this leads me to two questions:
    1 How many xrefs is too many?
    2 What are you telling your users to do when xreffing? Overlay, attach or are you not managing this?
    JP

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpduhon
    1 How many xrefs is too many?
    Honestly depends on the type of project.

    Also a key considerations, is the hardware being used up to the task ie.

    * Is the network up to the task of transferring *all* that data to the desktop computer requesting it, in a reasonable time frame.

    * Is the desktop computer able to load *all* that data into memory in a reasonable time frame and still be functional / userable...


    Quote Originally Posted by jpduhon
    2 What are you telling your users to do when xreffing? Overlay, attach or are you not managing this?
    Always use Overlay, unless the task at hand is *only* achievable via Attach.

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpduhon
    wow!
    1 How many xrefs is too many?
    How many drawings can you open in your AutoCAD at a time? Your question is almost same like this. I would say that depends upon the machine & software configuration as Mike said.
    2 What are you telling your users to do when xreffing? Overlay, attach or are you not managing this?
    We already have a very good discussion on that topic over here

    HTH
    har!s
    CADing && Coding
    AuotCAD 2010 on Windows XP Professional (SP3)

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    Hi

    Additionally, you may wish to take a look at THIS post and THIS one.

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Land of chocolate
    Posts
    228
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    hi - we have a drawing too with numerous nested and overlay'd Xrefs - in total about 50 to 60. When opening this drawing the computer memory goes up to 2Gb. And that for an AutoCAD drawing. I had to put the /3GB switch on that machine. Takes a couple of minute to load too.
    It is our compagnie Geo drawing. And yes, we need very performant hardware to handle this, choosen a workstation for it.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,919
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    dang, with that level of complexity and amount of data, y'all might want to think about moving it into Map3D, and use drawing sets and queries instead of Xref files....
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Land of chocolate
    Posts
    228
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    it kind of grew over the history - everything outside the building is on map - all inside the buidings was put in autocad vanilla with the xrefs.
    Offcourse now we stand - relalizing that wasn't the best idea...

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time Avatart's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Upsidedown in dreamtown
    Posts
    928
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    That Xref list looks pretty typical for one of our projects. I don't think that there is necessarily a limit to the number of Xrefs, it is how you manage them that counts. Also, there is a point where it is better to use a Block rather than an Xref, my general rule is; if it is not likely to change too much and if the drawing falls apart without it, use a Block (eg facade cladding units I Block in, a whole facade line I would Xref in).

    If the computer is grinding, then I would look at the hardware, rather than change the way in which I construct my drawings.

    I always use Xref Overlay, we have had so many problems with Attach Nesting creating mutliple instances of an Xref, then it is a nightmare to remove it. It does create a bit more work, but the payback is that your drawings do what you want them to.
    ^^ Ceci n'est pas une post ^^

  9. #9
    100 Club kleenhippie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-08
    Location
    38.7867 N, 77.4917 W
    Posts
    140
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    That list of xrefs looks pretty tame. I have gotten dwgs. from one engineering company in particular that xrefs every Architectual and Structural dwg. into each MEP dwg. We're talking 24 story condo buildings. I can open a Penthouse dwg., and see everything in the underground garage levels in model space. Everything is controled by freezing layers in paperspace. But when you're used to working in model space it's really a pain. I end up making up my own architectual backgrounds to use. Seems like quite a waste of time on my end.

  10. #10
    100 Club jpduhon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: xrefs - how much is too much?

    Well, thanks everyone for the responses. Mike's first response
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Perry
    Always use Overlay, unless the task at hand is *only* achievable via Attach.
    along with the links to the other posts really was what I was looking for.

    I've been telling users this for years but I always have to help projecs that are having xref problems and are too far along in the process to effectively go in and correct things. Then when I try to explain why it's neccessary to only use overlay (at least in almost every case) I get the paradigmatic responses, "We've always done it the other way" and "We never had a problem with it before" or "That's so much more work to xref everything into every drawing".

    Is there some documentation out there that can explain things more concisely to users?
    Maybe this question is better for the LISP thread but is there a way to require overlay vs, attach programatically?
    JP

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. xrefs
    By mgonzales.224492 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-03-24, 10:14 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-04-08, 09:03 PM
  3. Project Navigator - xrefs? what xrefs?
    By rodg in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-11-04, 08:21 AM
  4. Project Navigator - xrefs? what xrefs?
    By rodg in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-11-04, 08:20 AM
  5. XREFS - MSG not xrefs "Not Found"
    By spencer.67965 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-01-18, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •