Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Moving points from one surface to another

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Moving points from one surface to another

    Hi all,

    I have a quick question I am hoping someone can answer. I have a set of points on a specific surface that I need to move to another surface and not just move them with respect to a datum. Basically, I need to take these points and move them up or down until the lie on a surface either above or below the one they currently reside on. Is there a way to move a group of points up or down in differing amounts? I am being asked to try to make this work since our environmental folks would like to know what the elevation would be at each of these x/y locations on different surfaces, as if projecting a line straight through the point and all surfaces. Any help is appreciated and feel free to ask for more clarification

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,015
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving points from one surface to another

    I know there is a way to to do this (or was). You had to create a stratum (set of two surfaces typically used for volume calcs) and when you selected the points it would prompt you for a new elevation from surface 1, surface 2 or the difference between the two surfaces. You also had an option to change the selected points or insert new points.

    Problem is I can't find it now. I haven't done it since the Softdesk days but it must be here some where. I will keep looking.
    Jeff Paulsen

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,015
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving points from one surface to another

    I found it.

    Under the Grading menu there is a Modify Point Elevations option. This requires Civil Design Companion. The Grading menu is visible when you restore the Civil Design workspace.
    Jeff Paulsen

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Moving points from one surface to another

    You can also use the PT2SURF command in this collection:

    http://www.ejsurveying.com/sincpac.htm

    It lets you select points and datum-adjust them to a surface. Some of the routines in this pack need Civil Design Companion to work, but I think this particular one works even if you only have Land Desktop.

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Moving points
    By latahgps in forum Survey - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-05-15, 04:34 PM
  2. Moving Points and updating point database
    By SJCAN in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Survey
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-07-18, 07:51 PM
  3. Moving a large number of points
    By scott.epp in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-09-10, 01:26 AM
  4. Moving Survey Points
    By courtlandtgross in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-02-09, 01:02 AM
  5. I have points, since I make a surface with these points?
    By sergio_garces_salgado in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-09, 05:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •