Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

  1. #1
    Active Member keelay711's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    84
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    Thank you for taking the time to read this.

    I have a block utilizing fields to display its position coordinates (similar to many others, as noted in these forums). My problem lies in that I want to display the northings/eastings in decimal feet, per our clients wishes, but our drawing geometry is all based in inch units.

    I have attempted to nest fields in order to make this happen. The ATT value is a formula field which references (position field / 12). The position field has the format properties of only Y coordinate, 2 decimal places. There is no corresponding format option on the formula field. Currently, my output looks as follows:

    000000.0000, 000000.0000, 000000.0000

    X Y Z are all displayed, and the formatting does not reflect the 2 decimal precision.

    Is there a way to make this work?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    When working on your formula, have you used the Evaluate button? This will provide additional selections you can use to further define your fields.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Active Member keelay711's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    84
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    I have looked at the evaluate button, but I see no additional options to it. The following red portion is what changes with each evaluation.

    %<\AcExpr (%<\_FldPtr 2107814136>%/12) \f "%lu2%pr2">%



    My basic formula is this:

    InsertionPoint/12

    Is there some coding I can add to the formula to make it do what I want?

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,483
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    Are you using Block Place Holder Fields?

    Can you post a copy of your block?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Active Member keelay711's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    84
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    Here is the block with the two variants of the fields.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    iran
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Nested Fields - Convert units for Northings/Eastings?

    Quote Originally Posted by keelay711
    Here is the block with the two variants of the fields.
    HI.FILE IS TRUE
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. How to convert SI Units l/h instead of l/s in REVIT MEP 2010??
    By ncostab in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-03-09, 01:17 PM
  2. Convert Civil drawings using decimal units into Arch. units
    By tlarocco in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-07-17, 05:52 PM
  3. How to convert units according to Encient style?
    By oshenic2004 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-18, 04:13 PM
  4. Block for Northings/Eastings
    By keelay711 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-02-01, 08:23 PM
  5. How do you convert units inside Revit??
    By Richard McCarthy in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-10-25, 02:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •