See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    Hey all,

    Was messing around creating some foliage for a scene i'm working on right now. Ended up using PFlow for distribution and scaling and randomness control. The vines i did using editable poly (should have spent more time on them), utilizing the extrude along a spline function to get all the offshoots. Now that i know it works i can move to bigger and better models. Heres a couple of test renders.





    I'll post some renders of the scene that these are going into if i get some time in the next little while.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    if the leaves in the first image are digital, it could very easily pass as a photo from more than 6" away.

    nice stuff
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    Yup...the leaves are fully 3d with photo texture maps. I didn;t add any translucency or slight reflections yet either....cause i know it will send the render times up. Goingto save that for the actual scene that the vines are going into.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-03
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    hey, I've used AutoCAD for many years and am pretty good with 3d, but I'm trying to learn 3d studio in general. Basically I'm a beginner in 3d studio and want to learn the program. can you list some links to show me how to start learning the program. it looks like you have the program understood, because those leaves look very real great job.

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    www.cgarchitect.com has tons of tutorials & helpful resources on most / all 3d modeling programs.
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

  6. #6
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,722
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    Quote Originally Posted by jecurtis22
    hey, I've used AutoCAD for many years and am pretty good with 3d, but I'm trying to learn 3d studio in general. Basically I'm a beginner in 3d studio and want to learn the program. can you list some links to show me how to start learning the program. it looks like you have the program understood, because those leaves look very real great job.
    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=57818
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    You may also want to check out the CG Academy dvds as well as the Gnomon Workshop ones as well....but for the money you can't get a better deal then the 3dBuxx dvd....especially if you are first starting to learn MAX.

    Having said that.....post problems/questions here......we need to get this forum more active.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    Very nice.... did you use vray? I can't imagine basic scanline doing that!

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to dellis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    379
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 3ds Max - Crawling Vine

    Yeah....i rendered it in VRay. The scanline would more then likely crash out.

Similar Threads

  1. trellis with a vine
    By J-G in forum Revit - Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2012-12-17, 04:40 PM
  2. Revit crawling
    By KGC in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-04-06, 07:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •