Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    You can easily customise the double click action in recent AutoCAD versions to convert a line to polyline. Here are the steps to follow.

    Type CUI in the command prompt to open CUI dialog box (see attached image). Goto 'Command List' section and click on new button to create custom command.

    In the properties section, enter name as 'LineToPline' (or whatever you like) and in the macro section type in
    Code:
    ^C^C_pedit;;;^C (Don't miss the last three semicolumns).
    or
    Code:
     ^C^C$M=$(if,$(=,$(getvar,peditaccept),1),_pedit;,_pedit;;)
    Now goto 'Double Click Actions' and locate the 'Line' action (See the picture).

    Simply drag the 'LineToPline' command from the 'Command List' section and drop it in the 'Line' action.

    That's it. Now click on 'Apply' button and close CUI window.

    To apply from a Custom Button

    Create a custom button with the above macro. Preselect the line and click on the button.That's all you need to do. This method can be implemented in the older versions very easily.

    Note: The last ^C in the first macro will overcome the problem of one extra semicolumn when the PEDITACCEPT system variable is set to 1.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by zoomharis; 2007-05-20 at 10:39 AM. Reason: Added more info.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Big "D"
    Posts
    3,711
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Hey!! I just set mine to do that last week. Good tip.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto
    Hey!! I just set mine to do that last week. Good tip.
    Me too. I am slowly entertaining the power of changing
    the double click options.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Double Click an XRef to Open the Reference in a New Window

    If you would like to edit an xref in the source file instead of in place editing, use the following macro. To configure, use the steps described in the first post.
    ^C^C_xopen;
    Last edited by zoomharis; 2007-04-10 at 12:06 PM.

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by zoomharis
    Double Click an XRef to Open the Reference in a New Window

    If you would like to edit an xref in the source file instead of in place editing, use the following macro. To configure, use the steps described in the first post.

    ^C^C_xopen;
    Now that is way coooooooool!!!! Have a on me.

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    Now that is way coooooooool!!!! Have a on me.
    Thanks Robert. If you don't get bored, please try the following one.

    Double Click a Dimension to Regain its Original Dimension Value, Text Position and Text Orientation
    ^C^C_dimedit;home;cmddia;0;_dimedit;new;<>;previous;;

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    These days I am spending my free time to play with double click actions. I have found two funny entity type conversions.

    Convert an Arc to a Straight or Circular Polyline

    To convert to a straight polyline
    Code:
     ^C^C$M=$(if,$(=,$(getvar,peditaccept),1),_pedit;decurve;,_pedit;;decurve;)
    To convert to a Circular Polyline
    Code:
    ^C^C$M=$(if,$(=,$(getvar,peditaccept),1),_pedit;close;,_pedit;;close;)
    Warning: As long as you don't say that you are getting REALLY bored, I will keep on posting more actions.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict madcadder's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Too far from the beach
    Posts
    1,054
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert.Hall
    Me too. I am slowly entertaining the power of changing
    the double click options.
    I still don't like changing anything, at all, ever, in the acad.cui.

    So, guess what... This works when loaded from a partial, too. I followed the instructions, but... Instead of opening the CUI Editor and clicking "New" on the command list I changed over to my MadCadder.CUI and placed it there. Defined the command, defined the double-click, saved, applied, tested, and worked. All from a partial.

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by madcadder
    I still don't like changing anything, at all, ever, in the acad.cui.
    Yes I agree with that. It's always a good practice to leave default AutoCAD settings untouched. In case of CUI files, if you have defined something in the acad.cui, you can easily trasfer it to a partial CUI using the Transfer tab. By the way, I have got one more double click action to share with.

    Double Click an Image to make it Transparent

    While working with bitonal raster images , the default _imageadjust command has nothing much to do. So I converted the double click action to make the image transparent.
    ^C^C_transparency;on;

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time zoomharis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Abu Dhabi (Native-India)
    Posts
    506
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Double Click a Line to Convert it to a Polyline

    Double Click an Object to Zoom the Object
    If you frequently zoom to certain type of objects, assign this double click action to that object type.
    ^C^C'_.zoom;_o

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Survey Figure and Feature Line to 2D Polyline
    By civil3d.wishlist1941 in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2023-06-27, 04:03 PM
  2. Instead of typing PEDIT just double-click a Polyline to edit it
    By dzatto in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2010-02-19, 01:32 PM
  3. More use of right-click and double-click actions
    By revit.wishlist1942 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-05, 06:40 AM
  4. Convert an ARC to a Line or Polyline
    By nigel.chesworth in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-01-13, 10:02 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-06-29, 09:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •