Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: pad is grading my site

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time Justin Marchiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Penticton, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    954
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default pad is grading my site

    Am i going crazy? I remember that when you inserted a pad it would cut thru a toposurface in the shape of the pad, and that was it. Now is seems that not only does it cut the topo, but the entire surface seems to grade to the heights of the pad.

    is my old thinking correct? if not, how can i just get a hole in my toposurface? i just want a square to be cut straight down in my toposurface, without the pad grading my surface.

    Thanks

    Justin

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    As far as I recall the pad has always either 'excavated' or 'filled' to suit the elevation of the pad. To have the pad cut down you just need to be sure the elevation property is set below the topo surface elevation.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dimitri Harvalias; 2007-03-12 at 10:56 PM.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time Justin Marchiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Penticton, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    954
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    see my attached image. The first one shows the site without the pad. the second one shows the pad inserted. notice that on top of the slope the contour lines are changed (which coinsides with the shape of the pad).

    Does this help show my problem?

    Justin
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Posts
    107
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    Hi,

    That really looks like what happens when you add some points to the topo surface in an effort to "pre-define" you pad Elevation. Are you absolutely sure there are no additional points added to your topo surface in the new phase.

    Just make sure there are NO topo points along that edge. Edit your New topo surface and delete any superflous elevation points.

    Points. It is all about the points.

    Hope that helps.
    Christopher M. Ryan
    Principal
    4dPerspective

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    I tried to reproduce the problem and if the pad does not actually land on the slope then the site remains as intended. If it straddles the slope then it does get re-graded. No new points are added and therefore they can't be edited or eliminated.
    Not sure if this is a bug or if it's intended behaviour.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to Melarch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    204
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    I tried the same thing with the toposurface and found that if I have any topo contours overapping each other of different elevations or datum then the pad will attempt to take the additional topo points lower or higher than and adjust the contour to itself.

    Removing all errant topo points and keeping the toposurface clean of duplicate points in the same area of the toposurface that have different elevations so close together will avoid the pad trying to blend with those topo point elevations slopes.

    Mel Persin, AIA
    Mel Persin, aia - adjunct instructor, Revit/CAD
    Oakton Community College, Skokie, IL
    Architecture Design/Network Administration/BIM-CAD Consultant
    email:melarch@comcast.net or mpersin@oakton.edu

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time Justin Marchiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Penticton, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    954
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    in my example i had 8 points. 2 at the top (to form the corners) 2 at the top of the slope, 2 at the bottom of the slope, and 2 at the bottom (to form the corners). there is not a bunch of other point laying around. Dimitri seems to have the same result as me.

    Can the factory respond to this? I will also send a support request.

    Justin

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time Justin Marchiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Penticton, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    954
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: pad is grading my site

    i filed a support request and autodesk said that this is the expected result based on the site condition and pad that i have.

    The workaround that they suggested was to create a few more elevation points at the top (or bottom) of the toposurface to force the original heights back and ovewrite the pad grading.

    I logged a request to have the pad act the same, no matter what the toposurface condition. I dont think it is good that depending on the toposurface, the pad acts differently.

    Justin

Similar Threads

  1. CV218-1L: Grading a Commercial Site in Civil 3D 2008
    By Autodesk University in forum Civil Infrastructure
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-05, 03:28 AM
  2. Dealing With Grading Site
    By TerribleTim in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2012-08-02, 06:11 PM
  3. Site Grading drawings with linked site file
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-07, 06:20 PM
  4. Site Surface & Grading Improvements
    By dazza163968596 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-11-19, 12:55 PM
  5. About site and grading plans
    By Kroke in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-07-22, 12:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •