Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Tool Palette "Block definition not found" Error

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Tool Palette "Block definition not found" Error

    i have one or two blocks on our tool palettes that dont want to work. when trying to use the block, an error pops up and reads:

    Block definition "DRAWING NAME - 24x36" is not found in the source drawing
    "F:\Standards\CAD Drawings\Title Blocks\Drawing Name-24x36.dwg".
    the file is where it should be, and the block is in the file. i have the exact same TP (the original - not networked) on my machine which works just fine. i have tried copying the tool from my TP to the content browser, and each time i get the same error.

    i have also completely deleted the TP from the content browser and rebuilt it - dragging & dropping my TP into the browser - and the same error message appears.

    ADT 2007 & SP1
    Win XP
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

  2. #2
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,726
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Tool Palette "Block definition not found" Error

    Make sure the source file is not open when trying to use the tool.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Tool Palette "Block definition not found" Error

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Bennett
    Make sure the source file is not open when trying to use the tool.
    it wasnt. the tool is on a network palette, and the only thing in the source file is the title block. this error pops up on every computer that tried to use it.

    i did rebuild the whole palette from scratch a few minutes ago - deleting any references to it from the palette folder and it works now - so now i just get to repath it to everyones computer.

    i am still interested in know why it may have started with the errors though.
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-13, 04:36 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-10-09, 02:05 PM
  3. "File not found" error when trying to insert Xrefs or DXF's
    By kathy71046 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-06-08, 04:50 AM
  4. "central location cannot be found" error message
    By Revitator in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-05-02, 04:37 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-11-15, 07:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •