See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Posts
    213
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Hi Everyone-

    I am currently working on numerous DB and I have encountered a strange thing with one of them and that is that whenever I stretch the block the grip that I select seems to grow longer then the block itself. I have looked and looked at all the parameters and I cannot find the one that is affecting this entity. I am attaching a copy of the block for your review. Thanks.

    Manuel A. Ayala
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Quote Originally Posted by cadconcepts
    Hi Everyone-

    I am currently working on numerous DB and I have encountered a strange thing with one of them and that is that whenever I stretch the block the grip that I select seems to grow longer then the block itself. I have looked and looked at all the parameters and I cannot find the one that is affecting this entity. I am attaching a copy of the block for your review. Thanks.

    Manuel A. Ayala
    interesting. after using 'dwg true convert' (so i could check this out from home in A2006) and after going into the BE to look at the radiator, every time i click on the bottom stretch action, i bomb out with an 'internal error'... twice!.....

    i'll see what happens in A2007 tomorrow...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Delete the linear parameter as there is some funny with it, create a new linear parameter and dbleclick on the actions to associate them with the new linear parameter.

    Not sure why the parameter is playing up sorry but recreating it seems to fix the problem

  4. #4
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    Delete the linear parameter as there is some funny with it, create a new linear parameter and dbleclick on the actions to associate them with the new linear parameter.

    Not sure why the parameter is playing up sorry but recreating it seems to fix the problem
    Recreating the parameter fixes this issue - Cory is right.

    I've had this happen before. I have no explanation as to the WHY. All I know is that sometimes parameters simply wake up on the wrong side of the bed.

    Regardless, here is a fixed version of your block.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  5. #5
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    Delete the linear parameter as there is some funny with it, create a new linear parameter and dbleclick on the actions to associate them with the new linear parameter.

    Not sure why the parameter is playing up sorry but recreating it seems to fix the problem
    i NEVER use the pre-grouped parameter and actions for this reason, i ALWAYS start from scratch and have very few problems, especially when trouble-shooting...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Yea you have a good point there Chris, might do that in the future lol

  7. #7
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    Yea you have a good point there Chris, might do that in the future lol
    i almost gave up on DB's that first week i played with building my own because of those 'pre-assembled' options in the Authoring Palette. I was able to figure out what was going on WAY better when i started from scratch.
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Do you create the parameter and action seperately? Usually i create the parameter and dble click on it to get the option for the type of action.

    Lol now that would have been interesting if you had lol
    Last edited by Chris.N; 2007-03-21 at 03:04 PM. Reason: added space

  9. #9
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    Do you create the parameter and action seperately? Usually i create the parameter and dble click on it to get the option for the type of action.

    Lol now that would have been interesting if you had lol
    yes, exactly that.

    Last edited by Chris.N; 2007-03-21 at 09:22 PM. Reason: clarified answered question....
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Stretch by grip, grip becomes longer than the actual block

    I see i see. Each to their own

Similar Threads

  1. Stretch grip works only at visibility stage 1
    By vessela.raybosh in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-05-25, 12:29 PM
  2. Stretch Grip 150 feet away from inserted block?
    By zorroxxxx in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-27, 01:58 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-07-11, 04:28 PM
  4. stretch 2 directions with 1 grip?
    By sgoodmansen in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-03-22, 03:24 PM
  5. Dynamic block stretch in both directions from one grip?
    By kb3cxe in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-11-03, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •