See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    Today I took notice that I can now trim two lines that do not touch (they can be hundreds of feet apart or just a fraction of an inch). I generally work with my units set to 1/256 of an inch, so when I trim a line back to another line, and they don't create a closed boundary, it causes a problem when importing the drawings into a CNC router.

    Is there a setting that will allow me to set the tolerance so that the two lines must touch in order for me to trim them?

    Thanks
    -Walt

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    It may be easier to use the Fillet (or Chamfer) command with radius (chamfer) set to zero.

    OR -

    in the Trim command, change the Project setting to NONE. Then only objects that actually cross should perform a trim.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,671
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    I've only come across 1 issue with the trim or fillet command not working correctly and not making a nice 90 deg corner when it should. We had a real smart guy working on our project that decided it'd be a good idea to trace over the (scaled by 12) site plan that was created from a plane and some other fancy stuff. Point was the buildings that we were working in were something like 450 miles (yes I said miles) away from the origin. But seeing that you're using a CNC machine, I don't think that would be possible to do. Then again, I don't remember being able to use the fillet command to close a pline, but maybe it's due to a sysvar that I don't know about. Just some random thoughts.
    Dave Peterson
    BIM Coordinator

    Acad - 2019 - Revit 2020 w/ BIM 360 - Navisworks - 3ds 2020 - Ensacpe - Lumion - Win 7 64 - i7-8086K 4.0GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro P2000
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    Quote Originally Posted by david_peterson
    Then again, I don't remember being able to use the fillet command to close a pline, but maybe it's due to a sysvar that I don't know about.
    That bugs me too. The final joint of a closed pline cannot be made with Fillet.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,671
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok
    That bugs me too. The final joint of a closed pline cannot be made with Fillet.
    Anyone know if that ever made the wish list? I'm guessing it has, but if not it needs to be added.
    Dave Peterson
    BIM Coordinator

    Acad - 2019 - Revit 2020 w/ BIM 360 - Navisworks - 3ds 2020 - Ensacpe - Lumion - Win 7 64 - i7-8086K 4.0GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro P2000
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    Quote Originally Posted by david_peterson
    Anyone know if that ever made the wish list? I'm guessing it has, but if not it needs to be added.
    Okay, I'll suggest it.



    Edit: Done.
    Last edited by jaberwok; 2007-03-22 at 10:51 PM.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    I did a little more digging and came across a solution. If "EDGEMODE" is set to "0" AutoCAD no longer trims to apparent intersections. At some point this variable must have been changed because I don't ever remember being able to trim lines at apparent intersections.

    Also, When I just need to square off a corner the Chamfer command is what I use. The problem comes when I have crossing lines that must be connected for tor the CNC machine to recognize them.

    Thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trim not trimming back to selected trim boundary

    Quote Originally Posted by david_peterson
    Anyone know if that ever made the wish list? I'm guessing it has, but if not it needs to be added.
    It is on the current wish list; it will be voted on in ~counts on fingers~ June of this year.


Similar Threads

  1. Trim is not Trimming whole line...
    By robdg in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-06-03, 06:36 PM
  2. Trim not trimming, extend not extending
    By Kimberly Fuhrman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-02-15, 01:52 PM
  3. Extend and Trim lines to an enclosed boundary
    By tany0070 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2007-04-12, 08:10 AM
  4. Trim and Extend, trimming back, extending, too far
    By Mamma Jamma in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-10-31, 09:33 PM
  5. Area Boundary Lines - Trim preference
    By Steve_Stafford in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-07-15, 12:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •