Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Posts
    32
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    In older versions of AutoCad there was a Layer Manager. I could set up what layers I wanted on-off. In 2007 version is this Properties Manager? Help! I apologize if I'm in wrong group here ok?

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict .T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,473
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    err, um, I'm not sure if I should be typing in French or not. Hopefully not because I don't know it .

    Does anything happen when you type ._LAYER at the command prompt?
    Tim Creary
    S&D
    DILLIGAF

  3. #3
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    Hi "mickb"

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the Français - Civil 3D / LDT / Map 3D forum to this one, as I feel this particular forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Manager

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to lmitsou's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-01
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    219
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    You may also want to check if your LAYERS toolbar is on. Right click on any icon of any toolbar and make sure "LAYERS" is ticked. If it isn't, then click on it and the toolbar will appear.
    L. Mitsou



  5. #5
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    Layer Manager (LMAN) was part of Express tools. The Express layer tools have been incorporated into the core AutoCAD program. Most of them can be found on the Layers II toolbar. LMAN is not on the toolbar, however, you can still use the command by typing LMAN at the command prompt.

    AutoCAD added layer states to the vanilla AutoCAD LAYER command. I think they did this in version 2002. We made a company policy at that time for all employees to stop using LMAN and use the layer states in the LAYER command in fear that one day the express tool would go away.

    I personally think layer states are better than LMAN. You have control over what properties to restore. For example, if I only want to restore the on/off property and not the color property I can do it. In the later versions (started in either 2005 or 2006) you can force it to turn off any layers not referenced in the layer state. This is great when a layer gets added to an xref after you save the layer state.
    Jeff Paulsen

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Where is Layer Manager in AutoCAD 2007

    Autodesk has a layer state converter as part of the Autodesk Customization Conversion Tools. I have not tried it yet but it may be worth a look.
    Jeff Paulsen

Similar Threads

  1. Layer Manager for 2007
    By chris662253 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2012-04-09, 11:31 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2009-02-27, 04:25 PM
  3. Map 3D 2007 crashes when trying to open Layer Manager
    By jiles in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-07-06, 08:09 PM
  4. Mechanical 2007 - Snapshots in Layer Properties Manager?
    By senginee in forum AutoCAD Mechanical - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-17, 01:29 PM
  5. AutoCAD Layer Standards Manager
    By kenb in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2005-10-24, 03:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •