Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

    I seem to recall reading about a command or routine that would set all objects in a selection set to 0" elvation in the z axis. Anyone heard of this? I'm trying to draw a bldg. elev. and I am using info from walls drawn in ADT. Because ADT objects are 3D, my line points are at all different elevations, and it looks great, but can't use a lot of editing commands because the objects are not coplanar.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,322
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

    That would be the 'Flatten' command. What version of acad are you running? Do you have express tools? They are under the express tools>modify>flatten objects. I believe there is also a routine under the Exchange page. HTH
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

    ADT 3.3. And no, I was lucky enough to purchase this software just as Autodesk decided to screw us out of the express tools.

  4. #4
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,322
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

    Also found some replies from the pre-worm forum for additional reference that I'd saved from asking this question:

    Subject:
    RE: How do you " flatten" a drawing?
    From: Ali
    i think the best way to flatten a 2d drawing is to use the Change command & then Properties & set the Elev value to zero
    Subject: RE: How do you " flatten" a drawing?
    From: Moshira
    well ....
    I think saving to dxf R12 and all other staff is just to convert splines into lines ... cuz u can't chang spline's vertex's z coordinate .... so after getting rid of the splines ( by saving the drawing to dxf R12 ) u have to open it and run flatten lisp or zero lisp to have all the drawing in 2D only...


    >>> "R. Robert Bell" <robertb@acadx.com> 01/08/04 8:18:20 AM >>>
    Are you attempting the flatten on a non-ADT/ABS version of AutoCAD?

    Try turning Undo off before the flatten. Undo, Control, None. Then flatten.
    It took all of 5 seconds on my machine.

    Limited testing of points in plan view show things to be flat.


    R. Robert Bell, MCSE
    AUGI Guild/Forum Moderator
    www.Acadx.com


    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,322
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Re: Set all objects in a selection set to 0 elvation in the Z axis

    Okay, so I guess your best bet would be Robert Bell's Lisp routine (ex001339) on the exchange, or the change command (which I haven't tried myself).

    Good luck. With mine, I unfortunately had objects with a width in the z direction?!?!, so I had to change each and every by hand, or trace over them in paper space (but, then again, I had express tools, so I was able to do a change space to get them into model space).
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

Similar Threads

  1. Moving 3D objects in XY axis
    By eirik.kjolsrud in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-04-30, 06:50 AM
  2. flattening objects on the Z Axis
    By Rico in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2008-09-09, 08:01 PM
  3. Positions of objects on axis (polyline)
    By marijan.marsic in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-18, 02:51 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-10-13, 12:04 PM
  5. Mirror Objects Along 2 Axis....HELP..!
    By CADdancer in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-10-01, 11:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •