Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Updating Attributed Block

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    393
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Updating Attributed Block

    Hi,
    I have an attributed block which is inserted into about 100 drawings. I've just made a change to the block, but now I'm wondering if I can update them globally. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    94
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Updating Attributed Block

    There isn't a quick way. I use Design Center to redefine new block (see the image). What I do is first open the drawing with updated block and then proceed to open each drawing. Use the Design center and right click on the block you want to update and then select Redefine. Afterward you need to use ATTSYNC to update the attribute.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    393
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Updating Attributed Block

    That's what I was hoping I didn't have to do. Thanks for that.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Updating Attributed Block

    Code:
    (defun c:bd
    (setq imagelocation "z:\\Images\\")
    (command "-insert"
               (strcat "ANT=" imagelocation "ANT.dwg")
               *cancel*
          ) ;_ end of command
    )
    you could try modifying the above command to your paths and block names to redefine the blocks quicker,(it is part of a larger command, so it hasn't been individually tested) but, it wont help with the attsync.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Mamma Jamma's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    343
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Updating Attributed Block

    Below is a sample of a script I edit as needed and run (using Scriptpro for multiple drawings) The only problem I had was that I couldn't figure out a way to cancel before an actual copy of the block was inserted, hence the "erase l". I you've renamed the attributes, all bets are off and you might be sol.

    zoom
    e
    attreq
    0
    -insert
    3001brdr-d=I:\3001\dwg\a\borders\3001brdr-D.dwg
    @



    Erase
    l

    ATTSYNC
    N
    3001brdr-d
    quicksave

Similar Threads

  1. attributed block info extraction
    By prose in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-20, 02:33 PM
  2. Redefining an Attributed Block
    By J17 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-02-13, 02:49 PM
  3. Attributed block in a DBq
    By mbreeden in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-01-22, 08:33 PM
  4. Attributed Point Block
    By mserapiglia in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2006-04-27, 11:13 PM
  5. ATTRIBUTED BLOCK
    By bklagrone in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-16, 02:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •