Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    Anyone tried to create a new symbol in 2008. When you use Icon Menu Wizard to create the icon it won't display properly (colors inverted or very dim). Autodesk support says this a resolution problem. Their work-around is to change line weight and shrink drawing window down to icon size. This isn't really a reasonable fix. Anyone else tried this?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to RenataP's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Flint, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    370
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    Sorry, have not gotten my hands on 2008 yet.
    Do you like it, other then this?
    We do currently use this feature, a lot. There are just not everything we need. Also we are a visual group and like working with dialog boxes and symbols with pictures.
    I am interested in knowing the answer as well.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to RenataP's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Flint, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    370
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    Quote Originally Posted by david_brown
    Anyone tried to create a new symbol in 2008. When you use Icon Menu Wizard to create the icon it won't display properly (colors inverted or very dim). Autodesk support says this a resolution problem. Their work-around is to change line weight and shrink drawing window down to icon size. This isn't really a reasonable fix. Anyone else tried this?
    Welcome aboard!!! Great to see (read) new ones.
    Do you have any special points you would like seen in an ATP class? Looking for interest in Electrical, there are currently two and looking into teaching more. I have received some useful responses and hoping for more input on what everyone is needing for instructions.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    SO FAR, everything else seems to work okay. Good product, it's just that they changed the symbol menu and have a at least 1 bug in it, looks nice, if it only worked with user created symbols. Support tech said he would pass it along and maybe they would fix it or put it on wish list. Fixing a bug is canidate for wish list???

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-06
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    David
    I've been using '08 for a couple of weeks now and what I've found is that you first need to change the background to white, ideally, then before you take the 'snapshot' of your block, change the lineweight of the appropriate layers to a width of say 1mm (although this will depend on the size of your blocks - I'm talking standard electrical contacts here) and then you get something that is just about acceptable.
    I've actually ended up creating a 'Test' drg, just to use to create icons, filled with symbols, & with all layers set to a heavier lineweight, then using the 'LWT' button to toggle on or off.
    The other problem you can get is a squeezed up looking icon, depending on the shape of your block.
    The only way to easily cure this if you need to is to paste a screencopy from Acad into something like Photoshop and make a 'square' bmp or png file from there.
    All a bit over the top really isn't it, just to get a decent icon!!
    If you find a quicker way, let me know.
    Cheers
    Pete B.

  6. #6
    Manufacturing Moderator gsanchez23's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: 2008 Icon Symbol Wizard

    Great reply Pete, I would only add, that I open the user block dwg, change the lynetype to a thicker line and strech the width of the geometry, i might also delete some atributes. The key if to NOT save the modifications after creating the icon.

    George.
    George Sanchez
    Technical Expert, MICE, DMICE, ICE
    Chief Engineer, Research
    San Diego, CA.

Similar Threads

  1. Weld Symbol AutoCAD 2008
    By clarkrj in forum Dynamic Blocks - Sharing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-10-10, 03:37 PM
  2. Weld Symbol AutoCAD 2008
    By clarkrj in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-09-25, 01:03 PM
  3. setup wizard in AutoCAD 2008
    By gyozo_8 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-10-07, 03:39 PM
  4. setup wizard in AutoCAD 2008
    By gyozo_8 in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-07, 01:21 AM
  5. Iprop Wizard for inventor 2008
    By Cosmic Traveller in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-11-01, 03:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •