Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Creating Templates - Where to begin?

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Default Creating Templates - Where to begin?

Greetings,

I'm still kind of new to AutoCAD and sometimes need help seeing the big picture. My company receives many AutoCAD drawings daily but creates very few new ones on our own. This is changing. I would like to create a template drawing containing out titleblock/border plus whatever else would be handy to include in a template. Where to start...

Our drawings are based upon a D size titleblock/border most of the time we plot them 11x17. I'd like to use attributes in the titleblock. I'd also like to take advantage of paperspace. Should I make a block of our titleblock.border? Will I need a separate block for D and 11x17 plotting? Do I set up viewports in my template? If I have a template with a 11x17 tab and a D size tab do I have to put text and dimensions on the drawing twice?

I have many questions. Any advice on a good source of info on setting up templates and layouts would be appreciated. Thanks much, Steve

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Creating Templates - Where to begin?

Hi

Check out the following Technical Documents on the Autodesk web site under the Knowledge Base section -

ID: TS17888 - Start with specific drawing template

ID: TS24235 - Defining a default drawing template file

ID: TS21055 - Creating a drawing template

ID: TS64255 - Automating loading a template and starting a new drawing

ID: TS22684 - Changing the default template directory

ID: TS47106 - Changes made to acad.dwt and acadiso.dwt are not displayed in new drawings created using Start from Scratch option

ID: TS64564 - Identical hatch elements are displayed with different scale factor

ID: TS52238 - Page setup is lost when you start a new drawing

ID: TS21410 - Creating text styles

ID: TS39653 - New drawing does not reflect plot style setting

ID: TS22798 - Set default plot style

+