Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    419
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Hi AUGI Members,

    I attempted to make a dynamic block to be used to display the X and Y coordinate values of any specific point on a drawing. From time to time, because of drawing congestion, the arrows and corresponding attribute need to be moved / stretched to clear objects already drafted on the drawing. Up until now we utilized 2 blocks.....an arrow block and an attribute (X + Y coordinate) block. The only way to accommodate this requirement was to explode the arrow block and relocate the arrow to the desired position then use grips to move the attribute so it once again lined up with the arrow.

    I thought a dynamic block would be the ideal solution to this problem however, I can not get the attributes to stretch with the arrows. If possible can anyone take a look at the attached dynamic block and let me know what I am doing incorrectly.

    Any help with this would be appreciated....!

    Regards,
    Vince
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    place a move action that is associated with your stretch and select the attribute(s) taht will be moving. you will need one for each stretch in the block.

    edit - lock your attributes and re-associate everything and it should work.
    Last edited by .chad; 2007-05-10 at 05:53 PM.
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

  3. #3
    100 Club r424andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    In this Chair
    Posts
    170
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    try doing a search for attribute. This has been disscused several times. It has to do with locking and unlocking the attributes position (found in the attributes properties)

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Dynamic actions etc wont touch a attribute that isnt "locked"

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    419
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    I want to thank everyone for your input....!

    I believe I tried to incorporate all of the recommendations above but the attributes still do not stretch with the linework.

    Does anyone have any suggestions....??

    Thanks again for your help....!

    Regards,
    Vince
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Quote Originally Posted by vferrara
    I want to thank everyone for your input....!

    I believe I tried to incorporate all of the recommendations above but the attributes still do not stretch with the linework.

    Does anyone have any suggestions....??

    Thanks again for your help....!

    Regards,
    Vince
    i don't always have luck 'switching' attributes to being locked. i'd create new attributes and make sure it's locked before placement.
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  7. #7
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    i don't always have luck 'switching' attributes to being locked. i'd create new attributes and make sure it's locked before placement.
    I'd tend to agree with this. Usually, deleting something and redoing it from scratch works wonders with DBs.

    Hey! I hear that groaning. C'mon, think about it. If you had done that in the first place, you'd have solved the problem a LONG time ago and would have moved on to something better.

    SO deleting something and redoing it isn't THAT long / hard / bad ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    419
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Chris & Rico,

    Thank you very much for your feedback.......I deleted the attribute tags and recreated them from inside the bedit window and they worked OK after that was completed.

    If I can impose upon you I do have another question pertaining to a dynamic block (see attached) that Chris helped me with a little while ago. This block has 3 custom lines of information "Distance", "Angle" and "Distance1" and I would like to be able to access and manipulate these pieces of information with a lisp routine. I tried using something like (Setq abc (entget (entlast))) to begin but I do not see anything relating to the "Distance", "Angle" or "Distance1" info that I can modify.

    Your assistance would be appreciated....thanks again for you help...!

    Regards,
    Vince
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Retired Forum Staff Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    Quote Originally Posted by vferrara
    Chris & Rico,

    Thank you very much for your feedback.......I deleted the attribute tags and recreated them from inside the bedit window and they worked OK after that was completed.

    If I can impose upon you I do have another question pertaining to a dynamic block (see attached) that Chris helped me with a little while ago. This block has 3 custom lines of information "Distance", "Angle" and "Distance1" and I would like to be able to access and manipulate these pieces of information with a lisp routine. I tried using something like (Setq abc (entget (entlast))) to begin but I do not see anything relating to the "Distance", "Angle" or "Distance1" info that I can modify.

    Your assistance would be appreciated....thanks again for you help...!

    Regards,
    Vince
    Vince,

    I'm not AT ALL familiar with LISP so I think I'll have to pass the buck along to someone else - I'm not sure what Chris' knowledge of LISP is, so I can't comment on his behalf. I know that there's a LISP forum within the confines of AUGI and the folk there are quite savvy. MadCadder is a great resource in that regard. Maybe look HIM up or something or re-post the message IN the LISP forum. We could always work in tandem with other users out there to figure the problem out together ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  10. #10
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2015-02
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Get Attributes to Stretch in a Dynamic Block

    curious if you have still issues with this topic

    .. have tried using... fields?
    .. "invisible attributes"

    .. ??

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Block with Attributes, CAN"T Stretch Attribute's Position
    By drafting.33933 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2014-12-09, 08:06 PM
  2. Dynamic Blocks/Attributes/Polar Stretch...
    By awill81226338 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-04-08, 03:45 PM
  3. How do I get my attributes to move when I stretch my dynamic block?
    By KMiller.138083 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-01-01, 07:20 PM
  4. Trying to Stretch a hatch in a Dynamic Block with the Stretch parameter
    By hnewman in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-11-05, 09:34 PM
  5. Having attributes move Dynamic block stretch
    By cadconcepts in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-07, 05:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •