View Poll Results: Would a Dynamic Block FAQ be something that would facilitate / enhance DB usage?

Voters
10. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I could definitely use that

    8 80.00%
  • No, it's not something I need

    1 10.00%
  • Maybe, it depends on the content

    1 10.00%
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: Dynamic Block FAQ

  1. #11
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Angle offsets are relative to their params rotation not globally

  2. #12
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    If hatches are stretching properly in a DB, make sure that they are associative to a closed polyline and stretch the polyline not the hatch. And remember not to throw your toys until you have done a regen, as some hatches wont fill the new shape of the boundary until they have been regenerated

  3. #13
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    If hatches are stretching properly in a DB, make sure that they are associative to a closed polyline and stretch the polyline not the hatch. And remember not to throw your toys until you have done a regen, as some hatches wont fill the new shape of the boundary until they have been regenerated
    actually, they don't have to be associated to a closed pline, i just make sure the hatch is associated to objects that don't overlap. worst thing is your regen issue, and at worsteser, you have to reset the block and stretch again to get the desired behavior.
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  4. #14
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    actually, they don't have to be associated to a closed pline, i just make sure the hatch is associated to objects that don't overlap. worst thing is your regen issue, and at worsteser, you have to reset the block and stretch again to get the desired behavior.
    Yeah thats true but i find i have less problems now using plines that i did when using just lines etc thats all, each to their own
    Last edited by Mr Cory; 2007-08-01 at 03:37 AM.

  5. #15
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Attributes need to be Locked Position, other wise they wont be effected by dynamic actions etc, if you want the ablitity to move them create a point param with a move action

  6. #16
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Anything half inside a stretch box will be stretched, anything fully inside or fully outside the stretch box will be 'moved'

  7. #17
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Cory
    Anything half inside a stretch box will be stretched, anything fully inside or fully outside the stretch box will be 'moved'
    .... as long as it's included in the action's selection set, right?
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  8. #18
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    .... as long as it's included in the action's selection set, right?
    Oh, thought that went without saying, haha

  9. #19
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,199
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Arrow Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Rico
    That's a GREAT FAQ item. not biased or anything.

    Keep 'em coming!
    Hey Rico, unless they've improved this funtion....

    It would be a good thing to point out that you can't successfully mirror attributes to change from left to right justification (flipping a block with attributes left and right justified).

    This is best done with different visabiltiy states, (that was great advice).
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  10. #20
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg
    Hey Rico, unless they've improved this funtion....

    It would be a good thing to point out that you can't successfully mirror attributes to change from left to right justification (flipping a block with attributes left and right justified).

    This is best done with different visabiltiy states, (that was great advice).
    no improvement, still gotta have each justification...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How to change dynamic block attribute default values based on block selected?
    By zeirz109180 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-12-13, 02:20 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-06-04, 02:59 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-02-16, 06:58 PM
  4. New to Dynamic Blocks? LEARN!: Dynamic Block ATP's
    By Chris.N in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-07-15, 02:53 AM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-02-05, 01:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •