Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AutoCAD LT 2004 - Best way to create an use Blocks?

Login to Give a bone

Default AutoCAD LT 2004 - Best way to create an use Blocks?

I am relatively new to using BLOCKS in AutoCAD. Currently I am using AutoCAD LT 2004. In a nutshell, I need to create common shapes that I will use in every drawing.
    So here are my questions:

What is the best way to create Blocks?

Where is the best place to store them?

How do I choose a reference point in a block where there is no physical line?

How do I share blocks with other users or use the same blocks/tool palettes from other computers?

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: AutoCAD LT 2004 - Best way to create an use Blocks?

Draw what you want your block to be then use "block" You will be asked for a name for your block. Also you can select what objects are part of your block. and the base point off the block.

Id keep all the blocks in a seperate drawing (not part of a job, in a library for instance) so that you only have to look in one drawing to find them (personnal opinion)

The easiest way to do this is to draw in lines to where you want the base point then select it.

How do I share blocks with other users or use the same blocks/tool palettes from other computers?
    Networked toolpalettes, hopfully someone can provide a link to a details explantation on how to do this.

Sorry about the rushed explantation!
    Last edited by Mr Cory; 2007-06-14 at 03:08 AM.

In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by pourem1
    Draw the basic necessary geometry and BLOCK it. You can always add geometry once the block has been created, so if you missed something, there's no need to worry or re create it. Once your basic geometry has been drawn, you can add parameters and actions as well as the aforementioned additional geometry.

There really IS no RIGHT way to make DBs. It's the same as how you make normal blocks.