Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Manchester,England, UK
    Posts
    178
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

    We have started using Dynamic Blocks here at work which is great for most things, but I have noticed the Sections one doesn't insert the block in the mid point as our existing blocks used to be. The blocks insertion point is the mid point on the top flange. I have spoken to our CAD Manager but he has informed me that its to hard to get the block to work with the insertion point in the middle.

    Does anyone use Sections as a Dymanic Block and is it easy to amend so it can be inserted on its mid point?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Posts
    335
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

    Yes they will work with different insertion points. We have one that has several basepoints and then when you insert it, you can use the 'control' key to cycle thru the available insertion points (each corner, each midppoint, and the center of the block)

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Mr Cory's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Under a Rock over there
    Posts
    1,006
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

    Why not use a base parameter where you want the insertion point to be? Then it only two clicks

  4. #4
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

    don't forget that you can re-order the cycling by r-clicking on the parameter nodes...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  5. #5
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N
    don't forget that you can re-order the cycling by r-clicking on the parameter nodes...
    btw, once you go into "Insertion Cycling" mode, you'll see the importance of re-naming your parameters to meaningful titles...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2012-10-10, 02:38 PM
  2. RL insertion point
    By kristreagus in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2007-11-08, 03:33 AM
  3. Placing objects with respect to a point
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-11-18, 04:13 PM
  4. Insertion Point
    By kwong in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-19, 07:27 AM
  5. Insertion Point
    By kwong in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-19, 07:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •