Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Deleteing redundant geometry

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Deleteing redundant geometry

    If memory serves, there used to be a way to erase redundant or overlapping geometry. Am I correct or is that merely wishful thinking? If it does exist, would someone please remind me of the command? I''m using 2007LT. Thank you very much.

    -Jon
    Last edited by jstamnitz; 2007-06-20 at 04:36 PM.

  2. #2
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deleteing redundant geometry

    Is OVERKILL a commad in LT?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Location
    Central Maine
    Posts
    37
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deleteing redundant geometry

    Unfortunately it is not...

  4. #4
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deleteing redundant geometry

    Quote Originally Posted by jstamnitz
    If memory serves, there used to be a way to erase redundant or overlapping geometry. Am I correct or is that merely wishful thinking? If it does exist, would someone please remind me of the command? I''m using 2007LT. Thank you very much.

    -Jon

    The only ways I know of doing this require a full blown version of AutoCAD; using either OVERKILL (as Scott mentioned) or the DELDUP.LSP file.

    I don't suppose you're fortunate enough to have them on different layers?

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deleteing redundant geometry

    The easiest way, in LT, is to use Erase, window what looks like a single line (or a small group of lines), hit `R' for remove and single click the visible line (or each visible line).

    It's okay for small, simple drawings but not much more.

    Not trying to be a smart@$$ but in the long term it would be better to train your users to not produce redundant geometry.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deleteing redundant geometry

    I was afraid it would turn out to be an other issue with using LT. Unfortunately, the redundancy problems most often lie within architecture files I recieve from clients. If it was an in house problem with my drafters that can easily be fixed (they all know I don't put up with it). And, of course the extra lines and such are all on common layers. Oh well, at least I know now that I'm not just making up commands off the top of my head. Thanks a lot for the help.

    -Jon

Similar Threads

  1. Redundant Licenser Server Compatibility
    By gjpete69 in forum Networks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-26, 07:28 PM
  2. Redundant Levels
    By scottdurkee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011-02-08, 04:39 AM
  3. Deleteing layout tabs without viewports
    By kellyd in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2010-06-16, 07:59 PM
  4. Redundant Systems
    By daniel.morrison in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-05-20, 12:45 PM
  5. Trouble with users deleteing or moving files?
    By chadley in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2007-02-26, 04:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •