Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: shadow with mental ray

  1. #1
    Member hausmeister25's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default shadow with mental ray

    I stuck. I cant find the shadows on this picture.
    I rendered it with the mental ray settings in Max 9, see attached.
    Shadow is turned on, a daylight system has been created.
    Are the settings correct?

    Only, when I use the standard sun, I get the option to turn on shadows.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: shadow with mental ray

    I dunno dude. I setup a very basic scene and it worked. First I switched the UI to run mr settings, then built a box with some spheres above it. added a daylight containing an mr sun and sky. opened the render box and activated the mr render engine. rendered it and all spheres cast shadows. ~shrugs~
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  3. #3
    Member hausmeister25's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    London
    Posts
    27
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: shadow with mental ray

    I get shadows with mental ray, if ray tracing is switched on!
    Ray tracing takes up a lot of memory and time. Does anybody knows, if there is another option? Cheers.

  4. #4
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: shadow with mental ray

    Well, I can't imagine running mr without ray trace, as that is what refines the edges of shadows - among other things.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  5. #5
    Member gurudas.ku's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    NewDelhi
    Posts
    39
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: shadow with mental ray

    dude
    try to switch on shadows and select mr shadow and in render option go to indirect illumination switch on final gather, if u want to use a sky light that will great to get accurate
    cheers

  6. #6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: shadow with mental ray

    if raytracing is not active you cant use indirect illumination...is like you use scanline only.
    if you use low values for FG and GI you cand take low times..

Similar Threads

  1. First mental ray....
    By Martin P in forum Revit - Gallery
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-04-13, 07:41 PM
  2. Mental Ray GPU
    By METANAMORPHOSE in forum 3ds Max - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-10-02, 07:21 AM
  3. shadow studies with different color shadow
    By sami in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-12-04, 03:18 AM
  4. standalone mental ray vs. 3ds Max's internal mental ray
    By stusic in forum 3ds Max - mental ray
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2007-04-17, 04:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •