Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Phased Exports to DWG

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Richmond, Indiana
    Posts
    139
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Phased Exports to DWG

    I'm trying to export DWG backgrounds from a project with only two phases, existing and new. When I use "show all, new" I would expect the export would have existing, demo, and new all visible. When I freeze demo to show existing and new, the new objects are coming in spotty.

    Is this common? I've exported with "show complete, new" and all the new shows up fine. Just hoping to avoid two separate exports for demo and complete CAD backgrounds.

  2. #2
    "Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,272
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Hey there,
    I have had better luck when I create a phase that is "Show Complete + Demo" in the new construction view. Revit seems to like this one for exporting. Besides, it comes in handy when providing coordination drawings and when doing remodel projects.

    Good luck
    Steve
    Steven C. Shell, Architect
    Tucson, Arizona
    www.scshell.com

  3. #3
    Moderator JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    624
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Also make sure you are utilizing the Demolished, Existing and Temporary phase filter layer suffixes in the Export Layers settings.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Richmond, Indiana
    Posts
    139
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Thanks for the suggestions. Turned out it was none of the above. The problem was

    Export>CAD Formats>Options>Layers and Properties

    I was using "all properties BYLAYER, no overrides" rather than the default "Category properties BYLAYER, overrides by entity" when exporting.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Richmond, Indiana
    Posts
    139
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Steve, what settings are you using under phase settings for new, existing, and demo when you say you have "Complete + Demo" filter. I've tried a few combos of by category and overriden, but can't get what I'm after. There aren't that many combos, but I'm hoping you see something I don't...

  6. #6
    "Rock-n-Roll Architect" SCShell's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,272
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Hey there,
    It is a phase filter that I added. (You have to click "new" in the filter screen and give it a name. I called it "Show Complete + Demo".) I changed the "demo" catagory to "overide" and left existing and new as "by catagory" . You also have to pick a line style for your demo
    Good Luck
    Steve
    Last edited by SCShell; 2007-08-03 at 02:38 PM.
    Steven C. Shell, Architect
    Tucson, Arizona
    www.scshell.com

  7. #7
    Active Member jontramos's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    74
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Phased Exports to DWG

    Is there any way to export to CAD and drop the phase extension? I have a Revit project with only 1 phase, and when I export to CAD it forces the -NEWW layer suffix onto CAD layers.

    I thought I could prevent this by deleting the -NEWW in the export layer settings, but alas, it does not allow me to delete the suffix, nor fill it with empty spaces.

    Any suggestions?

Similar Threads

  1. Phased Grids
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-22, 01:15 PM
  2. VIZ to be phased out...
    By Steve_Bennett in forum VIZ - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-04-24, 04:07 PM
  3. Phased finishes?
    By jrocc858 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-15, 01:02 AM
  4. Phased Demolition
    By Lashers in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-12-30, 01:23 PM
  5. Phased about phasing
    By beegee in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 2003-10-15, 02:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •