Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fillet

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    Kenosha, Wisconsin
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Fillet

    I need to fillet between two assembled parts with a inside radius between 2 faces, not to the edge of the part with a outside radius. Can you guys help?

    Shawn

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    641
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    How is it done on the real assembly? Sounds like a fillet weld bead to me?
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm
    AU 2007 Avatech Altogether Smarter Inventor On-line Challenge 1st Place
    Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Williamsport, PA

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    Kenosha, Wisconsin
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    This is a very complex plastic mold, which is in the begin stage of design, It has multiple diffrent shapes of geometry that can be change at anytime. So, I have been design each shape seperatly and combining them together in a assembly. It has saved on redesign time alot when management asks for change. But, I've run into little issues like this the two parts will not fillet together.

  4. #4
    Manufacturing Moderator jonathan.landeros's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Los Angeles County, Ca.
    Posts
    440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    Have you tried using derived components?

    The steps (briefly).

    1. Start a new part (*.ipt) file.
    2. When the part starts up, finish the sketch
    3. Hit the derive component button.
    4. Choose the assembly (*.iam) you used to make the original piece(s).
    5. You'll see several options, but in effect you want to choose all the '+' signs to merge the part into one piece.

    After that, you should be able to put in the fillet you want.

    Hope this helps!
    Jonathan Landeros
    KETIV Technologies
    Orange County, California.

    I've got a blog: www.inventor-tales.blogspot.com

    “We have now left Reason and Sanity Junction.Next stop, Looneyville.” -Bob the Skull in the Dresden Files

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    Kenosha, Wisconsin
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    I tried that. It did not work. Any other suggestions?

  6. #6
    Manufacturing Moderator jonathan.landeros's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Los Angeles County, Ca.
    Posts
    440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    This process should do it. Where is it failing? Is it not deriving, or is the part not accepting the fillet when it's done?

    Can you upload the part and tell us what edge your trying to fillet (if you zip the file it can be uploaded).
    Jonathan Landeros
    KETIV Technologies
    Orange County, California.

    I've got a blog: www.inventor-tales.blogspot.com

    “We have now left Reason and Sanity Junction.Next stop, Looneyville.” -Bob the Skull in the Dresden Files

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    213
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    Can you edit the part in the assembly? Project the geometry of the mating part onto a work plane, create a sketch of the fillet and extrude it along the distance?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Location
    Kenosha, Wisconsin
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Fillet

    Re-examined the model found some incansistances and then used the Derived Component steps per "Jonathan" and it worked.

    Thanks!
    Shawn

Similar Threads

  1. using fillet
    By mdsalman2003 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-07-06, 06:31 AM
  2. 2011: Fillet
    By Clarence Worley in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-05-20, 07:41 PM
  3. 3D Fillet...
    By BeKirra in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-08-06, 07:02 AM
  4. fillet
    By asmaa.14-7 in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-11-09, 12:26 PM
  5. Fillet
    By Kroke in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2003-05-07, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •