Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Start Revit Without Template

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    41
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Start Revit Without Template

    Can Revit startup without a template? I deleted the line from Revit.ini but an error pops up on screen.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    1,907
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    rename default.rte to something else. Create a new project, selecting the template as none. Save project as default.rte and save into the Template subdirectory.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    7,047
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    I like to have Revit open initially without a template, but still have our office template available when I click on the "New" button at the top left of the screen. I did that by making a "splash screen" project, which was a blank project showing only a drafting view with my company's logo. Then I changed my desktop shortcut to point to that small project file instead of the Revit.exe file.

    The only times I've had problems with this is when installing a new version while keeping the previous version installed on my machine. Sometimes when opening the splash screen file, it would open the old version of Revit instead of the latest one.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jeffh's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    1,087
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    Quote Originally Posted by tmomeyer View Post
    Can Revit startup without a template? I deleted the line from Revit.ini but an error pops up on screen.
    Ther is not a way to open Revit without a project opening. It has to have some kind of project open on launch.
    ______________________________________________
    Jeff Hanson
    Sr. Subject Matter Expert
    Autodesk, Revit User Experience

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    394
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    Here is how thing have been set up at my firm (compliments if Cyril at CDV Systems).

    We did not want our office template to open up with Revit becuase it can take a while to load and this gets old after a while. So we created two templates.

    One is called Architectural Template, and is the standard office template file (30 meg). The other is called Introduction and is about 1 meg, this is the file that opens automatically with Revit.

    The introduction template is a pugred file with almost nothing in it except for some text in the only view in the file. The view has a Jpg of out company logo, and below that in very large font is says something like "THIS IS NOT THE OFFICE TEMPLATE". Underneither are some instructions. See the attached image.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    41
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    Quote Originally Posted by tim.101799 View Post
    The introduction template is a pugred file with almost nothing in it except for some text in the only view in the file. The view has a Jpg of out company logo, and below that in very large font is says something like "THIS IS NOT THE OFFICE TEMPLATE". Underneither are some instructions. See the attached image.
    Thank you, we're just getting started on Revit and this looks terrific!

  7. #7
    The CADSmith Chad Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,731
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffh View Post
    Ther is not a way to open Revit without a project opening. It has to have some kind of project open on launch.
    Any chance of getting a check option in the Options so we can decide? 99% of the time I want to open an existing file after starting Revit, but have to wait for the initial template load.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict jeffh's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    1,087
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    Quote Originally Posted by Chad Smith View Post
    Any chance of getting a check option in the Options so we can decide? 99% of the time I want to open an existing file after starting Revit, but have to wait for the initial template load.
    I am with you on this one Chad. Functionality similiar to what you have described has been logged with development for consideration in a future release fo Revit.
    ______________________________________________
    Jeff Hanson
    Sr. Subject Matter Expert
    Autodesk, Revit User Experience

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time clog boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Probably near a PC.
    Posts
    837
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Start Revit Without Template

    I like the vanilla template: nothing predefined, total freedom.
    Then again, I'm a template builder. We need to have standards, and it's my job to push them to the people I work with.
    Most people here have desktop shortcuts to their projects and start Revit by opening the project file. If they need to start a new project, they know where to find the template. It's my job to keep it up-to-date and handle feedback.
    LinkedIn

    "Too many variables!" - Mordin

Similar Threads

  1. Always start with a Civil 3D template (dwt).
    By civil3Dguide in forum Civil 3D Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-08-12, 12:17 AM
  2. How to start a Custom Project Template?
    By twollifur in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-08-13, 03:05 AM
  3. Start-up Metric Template
    By Jack Cheong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-23, 11:31 AM
  4. MEP Template files-Where to start?
    By Liamnacuac in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-09-26, 12:54 PM
  5. Start a new DWG without selecting a Template
    By cwjean76 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-12-09, 01:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •