Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Publishing to a plot file

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Publishing to a plot file

    I need to publish to a plot file from 2008. Some of the drawings have 33 sheets or more. I am going to be sending it out to a vendor for printing. Can anyone advise me on how this is done and if its better to have individual sheets or send it as multiple sheets in one file.
    I would appreciate any advice you can give me.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Quote Originally Posted by Coffee Coffee View Post
    I need to publish to a plot file from 2008. Some of the drawings have 33 sheets or more. I am going to be sending it out to a vendor for printing. ...
    I would appreciate any advice you can give me.

    check with that vendor, and see what he can deal with. Multisheet DWF would be nice but you'll have to verify that he can work with that.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,779
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Either DWF or PLT files.
    You may need to configure your PC3 file to plot to file, since there is no override to do this in the ._PUBLISH command, like there is in the ._PLOT command.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    When you use a PC3 file that is configured to plot to a file you can control the file location in the Publish Options inside the Publish command.
    Jeff Paulsen

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    I created the PC3 and I can create the plt file just fine for individual sheets but when I use the publish command it still sends it to the plotter.
    When I do a search for plt files on my system it will even show shortcuts to plt files but they don't exist when you check the source location.
    I am still working on it.
    I appreciate all the input.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Are you sure you specified the correct PC3 file for all sheets in the publish job?
    Jeff Paulsen

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Yes - I tried it several times to be sure. It will do the individual sheets perfectly but as soon as I go into publish it goes to the plotter.

  8. #8
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,779
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Quote Originally Posted by Coffee Coffee View Post
    Yes - I tried it several times to be sure. It will do the individual sheets perfectly but as soon as I go into publish it goes to the plotter.
    Then the PC3 file you are using is not configured to "plot to file" -or- the location to which it is dumping the plot files is a print queue.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    I have the plot to file box checked. What setting am I missing? I'm sure there is something simple that I am overlooking here.
    Here are the plot window and also the page manager dialog box.
    see attached
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Coffee Coffee; 2007-09-10 at 04:37 PM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    25
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Publishing to a plot file

    Okay managed to create a PC3 file that works Thanks for all your input.
    Last edited by Coffee Coffee; 2007-09-10 at 05:50 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to turn off plot stamp when publishing
    By bowtle in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-09-17, 01:34 AM
  2. Publishing to file
    By cadman6735 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-22, 07:33 PM
  3. Why does publishing my sheet set create a single file?
    By janunson in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-08-06, 08:55 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-15, 02:29 PM
  5. Publishing & File Save
    By revacservice in forum MDT - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-02-05, 07:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •