See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

  1. #1
    Active Member jim.dozorec's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    62
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Hi, All

    I just got a new computer and after setting it up for AUTOCAD 2005 (which I had on the old computer), my "Startup Suite" lisp routines, when invoked by the command line, return an "Unknown Command" message.

    I saved my profile from the old computer and reloaded to this one. The contents of the "Startup Suite" are the same as previously. And the path to the lisp routines is correct.

    Anyone had this problem or know how to fix it?

    Regards, Jim

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Quote Originally Posted by jim.dozorec View Post
    Hi, All

    I just got a new computer and after setting it up for AUTOCAD 2005 (which I had on the old computer), my "Startup Suite" lisp routines, when invoked by the command line, return an "Unknown Command" message.

    I saved my profile from the old computer and reloaded to this one. The contents of the "Startup Suite" are the same as previously. And the path to the lisp routines is correct.

    Anyone had this problem or know how to fix it?

    Regards, Jim
    They're not loading. Either their location is not in the path or the file that loaded them on your old setup is missing. Enter (findfile "name of you routine.lsp") at the command line. File not found means "name of you routine.lsp" was not in the path. Were they loaded in the acaddoc.lsp before? Did you copy it to the new system? Check the path returned by (findfile "acaddoc.lsp") to see if a different one is loading.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time Richard.Kent's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Posts
    622
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Usually when you get the Unknown Command there is something in the lisp file that is not working properly, something is no longer recognized, etc. I know recently I had this very problem and found that I was changing the Dimscale on startup. The problem is with 2008 if an annotative dimstyle is set then AutoCAD won't recognize the dimscale call.

    A way to narrow down the problem is to see what has loaded and what is not working. Open your startup file and then try some of the custom named routines you may be loading, if one works then try one further down the page until you find one that isn't loaded. Go from there.

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Exclamation Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Can you load these files manually? (drag/drop from Windows Explorer onto the editor window).

    If so, then I would give up on the startup suite and just append/create your "acaddoc.lsp" file.

    Create a line for each lisp file that you want to load at startup. Add the path if necessary. (Note the double slashes)

    (load "mylisp")
    (load "D:\\mylisp\\special\\tlen")
    (load "\\\\server\\share\\dir\\lispfile")

    Make sure "acaddoc.lsp" is located in your support file search path, preferably at the TOP.

    See this post for more info.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    2005 brings back fond memories of losing lisp routines while drawing. All of a sudden
    certain routines would stop working. Seems as if AutoCad was dropping the lisp files.
    Never could figure out the cause.

  6. #6
    Active Member jim.dozorec's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    62
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Smile Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Hi, All

    Thanks for all the advice. I started ACAD2005 this morning before doing anything that you all advised and all of the lisps in the "Startup Suite" are working now!!!

    I don't know what happened as I had loaded and unloaded ACAD2005 several times previously and they refused to work, but now they are?!?!?!

    ACAD is strange sometimes.

    Regards, Jim

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: My startup suite lisp routines are not working properly

    Never had a problem, but I've never used the "Startup Suite" either. Acad.lsp for any lisp to run on startup, acaddoc.lsp for any lisp to run with each drawing, and acad.rx for arx files. Files are easilly backed up and transfered.

Similar Threads

  1. Object snaps not working in lisp routines in 2012
    By jrp.31023 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-11-01, 06:39 AM
  2. Startup Suite Not Working
    By jchavez76 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-10-08, 12:09 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-12-08, 03:20 AM
  4. Managing Lisp Routines at Startup
    By stusic in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-09-21, 10:16 AM
  5. Added LISP and ARX files to my startup suite in AutoCAD 2006, now I see...
    By sid.fontenot550 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2005-09-21, 02:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •