Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Facilities Management with Revit

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Clyne Curtis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Provo, Utah
    Posts
    208
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Facilities Management with Revit

    Hey All,

    Just returned from the National Collegiate CADD Conference where university CAD Managers like myself gather and attend classes (kinda like a mini AU) on how we can do our jobs better. I was pleasantly surprised to see that many universities have their interest piqued in regards to Revit. Several universities, including our own, are in the process of converting their building database files into Revit models. To make a long story longer, as a member of the Executive Board for the conference, I have been asked to conduct several training labs next year on utilizing Revit for facilities management. As I will probably be picking your brains during the next year, I just wanted to give you a heads up! I have followed all the previous threads on this subject, but if anybody has any additional experiences or input, I would value your ideas. Thanks all for the great forum!

    Clyne
    Brigham Young University

  2. #2
    Autodesk Revit Product Marketing Manager
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Gloucester, MA
    Posts
    57
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Clyne,

    Feel free to contact me if I can be of any help. It sounds like a great opportunity for education.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to Tom Dorner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    371
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    I know I have posted on this subject before, but in our trying to do facilities management and lease management with Revit we are missing the database field format of "date" so we can sort, group, color fill etc. by "date". A simple text field to hold a "free form" date does not work for us.

    It is THE one thing I need before I can go any further with selling Revit as an FM or LM tool to our clients. I hope that in 7.0 the "date" field is there.

    Tom

  4. #4
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by Clyne Curtis
    Hey All,

    Just returned from the National Collegiate CADD Conference where university CAD Managers like myself gather and attend classes (kinda like a mini AU) on how we can do our jobs better. I was pleasantly surprised to see that many universities have their interest piqued in regards to Revit. Several universities, including our own, are in the process of converting their building database files into Revit models. To make a long story longer, as a member of the Executive Board for the conference, I have been asked to conduct several training labs next year on utilizing Revit for facilities management. As I will probably be picking your brains during the next year, I just wanted to give you a heads up! I have followed all the previous threads on this subject, but if anybody has any additional experiences or input, I would value your ideas. Thanks all for the great forum!

    Clyne
    Brigham Young University
    If you need a guinea pig, you can use my facility. Although I was told at last year's au revit mixer that it might be too large for Revit's current capabilities. (6 mil sq ft)
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  5. #5
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by mes0945
    If you need a guinea pig, you can use my facility. Although I was told at last year's au revit mixer that it might be too large for Revit's current capabilities. (6 mil sq ft)
    Hey no problem if there's no walls inside it. Daahaa haha
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    822
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Im interested researching using Revit as a facilities management program for one of our major international clients in relation to maintaining there commerical office fitouts throughout the asia-pacific region (ie NZ/ Australia up to japan incl China) - any updates on this tread/ articles/ thoughts????
    Alex Page
    RevitWorks Ltd
    Check out the Door Factory, a door maker add-in for Revit

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by alexpage
    Im interested researching using Revit as a facilities management program for one of our major international clients in relation to maintaining there commerical office fitouts throughout the asia-pacific region (ie NZ/ Australia up to japan incl China) - any updates on this tread/ articles/ thoughts????
    going to AU this year? they have a most robust FM track, including this first of a kind course...

    FM11-1: Developing Facilities Plans with Autodesk Revit
    Session Type: 1.5 hr. Class
    Date: November 28
    Start Time: 08:00 AM
    End Time: 09:30 AM
    Expertise: All Levels
    Track: Facilities Management
    Conference Type(s): AU


    Description: This course will lay out the capabilities of Revit as a
    facilities planning system. You'll learn how to create space plans, employee
    tracking, and creating charge-back analysis from the data.


    Topics Covered
    - Space planning
    - Employee designators
    - Setting up data
    - Pulling data out of the software
    - Creating useable information from the data


    Who Should Attend
    Revit users wanting to understand how to use the software as a
    facilities application.
    Speaker(s): Denise Cahill

    http://www.autodeskevents.com/au2005/index.cfm?action=session.list&trackID=428
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    822
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Im based in New Zealand - but would absolutely LOVE to get hold of these lecture notes!
    Last edited by Alex Page; 2005-08-29 at 09:09 PM.
    Alex Page
    RevitWorks Ltd
    Check out the Door Factory, a door maker add-in for Revit

  9. #9
    100 Club Wesley's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    119
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Alex,

    Give me a buzz in mid-December and I'll shoot you a copy. I am going to AU, and am also doing some work with Autodesk in regards to FM for APAC useage.

    Regards,
    Wes
    wbenn at benndesign.com.au
    Benn Design
    02.9929.4200
    Sydney Australia

  10. #10
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Talking Re: Facilities Management with Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by Wesley
    Alex,

    Give me a buzz in mid-December and I'll shoot you a copy. I am going to AU, and am also doing some work with Autodesk in regards to FM for APAC useage.

    Regards,
    Wes
    wbenn at benndesign.com.au
    Wes, pardon my slowness, but, I have this thing for acronyms... what precisely does APAC stand for?
    thanks.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. From Revit MEP to Facilities Management software
    By matt__w in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-10-15, 04:19 PM
  2. Facilities Management and Revit
    By nateouren in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-01-12, 06:09 PM
  3. Facilities Management and Revit
    By ajayholland in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-01-06, 10:02 AM
  4. Revit and Facilities Management
    By brethomp in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-08-31, 04:55 PM
  5. Revit ready for Facilities Management?
    By Lansing in forum Facilities Management In Practice
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-03-14, 01:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •