Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Totalling areas in schedule

  1. #1
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default

    Is there a way to get sub-totals and totals of areas in a schedule ?
    The totals only work for the number of instances, not the actual area arithmetic.

    I really dont want to export to excell, total and import a dumb text block.

    beegee.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time jbalding48677's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    765
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    Do you mean like this? See image #1 - Schedule Sub-Totals first then check the settings in #'s 2 and 3.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    - JB

  3. #3
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    Yes Jim,

    Thats exactly what I wanted .. thanks.

    I had found the "calculate totals" box in Formatting, but was (am) still a bit unclear about the grouping to achieve subtotals, ....I could use a hidden field for grouping maybe, or else define different area types.

    I will play around with this a bit. Thanks for your help.

    beegee.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time jbalding48677's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    765
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    In short, if you do not check the header or footer boxes you are sorting and if you check them you are grouping. If you remember, this used to be on two separate tabs and was combined into one. I kind of like this way, after some getting used to it...
    - JB

  5. #5
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    Hmmm,

    I still can't format the schedule the way I would like within Revit.

    The attached jpg " area schedule - desired " shows what I would like. It was produced by exporting to Excel , then importing as text into a drafting view.

    The other jpg shows the schedule as far as I could sort and group it in revit.

    beegee

  6. #6
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,566
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    I don't see the Roofed area type in your Revit Schedule...you need a common parameter to differentiate and group by. It looks like you want to group by Area Type, but I can't tell why you don't have the roof group.

    Can you post the same images Jim did with your settings too?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Totalling areas in schedule

    I only have a "Gross Building " and "Exterior " area type available. Thats all the Revit Help files list also, for "Gross Building Area " schemes.

    I've added a new parameter - " Group Field Custom " which allows me to sort and Group by Area Type and also by that new field.

    That gets me pretty damn close to what I want, ( as attached ) not quite there yet though. I'll keep playing.

    Thats for the help guys.

    beegee

Similar Threads

  1. adding areas on schedule
    By ray salmon in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-06-03, 09:53 PM
  2. schedule areas of linked buildings
    By steedlei in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-11-19, 01:35 PM
  3. Schedule of areas
    By Wagurto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-02-28, 05:45 PM
  4. Split the areas in Schedule
    By Mark Vorstenbosch in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2006-05-29, 12:24 PM
  5. Schedule trickery - How do I get an average of areas?
    By PeterJ in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-02-12, 09:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •