See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: GeForce vs Quadro (beware of my ranting) :)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Active Member Neo_Richard_Blake's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default GeForce vs Quadro (beware of my ranting) :)

What the heck is the real difference between a GeForce and a Quadro graphics card? I've been researching this pretty heavily for at least 6 months, and the best answer I can get is that Quadros are built for CAD, and GeForce are built for gaming. End of story, that's all I get. It's like a bunch of video game fan-boys arguing about the most recent video game systems. Everything seems to use the "because I said so" mentality. Xbox 360 is better than Wii "because I said so". Wii is better than Xbox 360 "because I said so". Quadro is better than GeForce "because I said so". GeForce is better than Quadro "because I said so".

I don't care what they're built for. I want to know what will work, apples-to-apples and oranges-to-oranges, leaving the money issue out of it. Please try to steer away from phrases like, "well, for the price...," etc.

I've even read Nvidia's official GeForce vs. Quadro PDF of many, many pages. If anti-aliasing is the only thing that works differently who cares? If overlapping windows take a little longer to draw with a GeForce, who cares? Will the GeForce still draw the windows, or will the application die? We seem to crash all the time anyway, so what do I care if I crash once more in a day?

I'm so confused on this that it actually hurts my brain. I don't want to hear any more about specs, and what they're supposed to do. I want to know who out there has what video card, and what does it do that you like, and what does it do that you don't like. I'd really love some verifiable proof that I can test and use to proove to my managers one way or the other.