Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Move an attribute with visibility states

  1. #1
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,757
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Move an attribute with visibility states

    I've searched this forum and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. I'm working on a db of a wire tag that has six positions (see attached). Right now it has six atts, and only one gets filled in upon inserttion. I just want one to move with each vis state, or is there a better way?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    C:> ED WORKING....

  2. #2
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    I've searched this forum and can't seem to find what I'm looking for. I'm working on a db of a wire tag that has six positions (see attached). Right now it has six atts, and only one gets filled in upon inserttion. I just want one to move with each vis state, or is there a better way?
    hmmmm, short of getting it down to one attribute somehow using a lookup, i can already see it being down to no less than 2 states using flips anyway, but only if you don't mind a middle justified attribute.

    1 state for middle ones, the other for offset (each corner)

    what do you think?

    oh, and how tagged, what kind of text is used? (fishing for length issues)

    also, (and i'm sure you're still in the middle of developement and haven't gotten that far...) you'll need to make each tag unique in the DB regardless of visibility...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  3. #3
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,757
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    No more than 15 chars, but usually 3-6.

    Would it work to have one invisible attribute, and then 6 fields for each location?
    C:> ED WORKING....

  4. #4
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    No more than 15 chars, but usually 3-6.

    Would it work to have one invisible attribute, and then 6 fields for each location?
    i've done that, and it makes for a REALLY finicky block. as soon as somebody copy/pastes one of those blocks (at least in our office), it's nuthin but "######" signs everywhere!
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  5. #5
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,757
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.N View Post
    i've done that, and it makes for a REALLY finicky block. as soon as somebody copy/pastes one of those blocks (at least in our office), it's nuthin but "######" signs everywhere!
    The attached seems to work, but the fields won't update after I change the attribute value.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    C:> ED WORKING....

  6. #6
    Retired Forum Staff Chris.N's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    2,561
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    The attached seems to work, but the fields won't update after I change the attribute value.
    even after regens?

    fieldeval set to 31?

    ok, just looked and everything should be an attribute. have you had this setup work for you in the past?

    you can't have the 'child' attributes set to constant either for some reason, so i always put in the prompt field for the attributes DO NOT EDIT THIS LINE!!

    it seems to work for those that can read...
    Sometimes, i get lost in my own thoughts and need to ask directions to find my way back.
    S&D DB Sharing Forum

  7. #7
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,757
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Si, Si, senor. However, it will while in the block editor, just not after its inserted.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  8. #8
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,757
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    I have a wishlist item that's been approved. Be sure to vote for this one.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to Ammon's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Thanks for the info. I will definitely be voting for that one.

  10. #10
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Move an attribute with visibility states

    Quote Originally Posted by Ammon View Post
    Thanks for the info. I will definitely be voting for that one.
    ~insert shameless plug~

    You've only got until Monday to vote!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. visibility states
    By luislhss in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2013-06-27, 06:56 PM
  2. Layer States to Visibility States?
    By Ant59 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-07, 11:17 AM
  3. Common Attribute amongst a couple visibility states
    By alaskahick in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-11-17, 03:13 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-04, 05:46 PM
  5. Multiple visibility states??
    By blaine.67000 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-01-30, 03:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •