Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Having come back from my holiday to discover a load of detailing has been done in Autocad for a job I am working on -

    I would like to be able to have a callout that hyperlinked to the appropriate autocad file AND the correct paperspace tab , I realise I could import the details etc - but we want to keep the details in autocad now anyway, as our autocad user is going to do the details, while I do the sections, plans, elevations etc, I will need to look at them regularly - and make sure the detail numbers etc tie up.

  2. #2
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,564

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    I have no idea if this is really possible, what if they were saved as dwf's. Can you hyperlink them that way? Create a family that has some labels that are hyperlinks pointing to those, then they might pop up your I browser??

    Just thinking on screen...

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford
    I have no idea if this is really possible, what if they were saved as dwf's. Can you hyperlink them that way? Create a family that has some labels that are hyperlinks pointing to those, then they might pop up your I browser??

    Just thinking on screen...
    it sounds as though you think I can at the moment create a hyperlink using annotations families? I will check that out, it might do pretty much what I need, didnt know hyperlinks were possible in revit anywhere.

  4. #4
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,564

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    I think I'm full of beans about the annotation family...but you can add a URL to a family. Like a window for example, then in the properties of a window, you can click on the little arrow in the URL category and Revit will open the web browser and take you to the site. It may still be possible to do something like you describe, but probably not as nicely as you imagine.

    Okay, I experimented quick, I created a generic model, made three types and added three parameters that have two web sites and a dwg file as the destination. Then I made a generic model tag to display the URL path. I imported the link family into a project and tagged em. The downside, to actually call the link, you have to select the family type, choose properties, choose edit/new then click on the URL link button. For the dwg, AutoCAD opened the drawing, for the web sites, my browser popped up the web page. Pretty cool, but not very cool actually getting the link.

    I can send you my test files if you want to try it out.

  5. #5
    Revit Technical Specialist - Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Chino, CA
    Posts
    4,756

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    I would seriosly consider linking your ACAD details into detail callouts in Revit. That way, you let Revit take care of the drawing managment, and your detail guy can still draw 'em in AutoCAD. If they are linked, he can make changes and they will update. It's really not going to take that long for you to set up, and will definately be quicker than trying to build hyperlinks.
    Scott D Davis
    Sr AEC Technical Specialist
    Autodesk, Inc.

    http://about.me/scottddavis

  6. #6
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,564

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    I agree w/ Scott even though I was messing about with that other concept...just make sure you don't use custom symbols in text or dimensions that Revit won't properly display. True for blocks with attributes. These subtleties are what makes linking or importing difficult to implement.

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    Yep, linking would probably be the way to go I suppose - I just wish the lineweights that that our Autocad guy uses in 2004, would come into revit as lineweights..... (make that my wish now )

  8. #8
    Moderator JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    625

    Default Re: Hyperlinked callouts to autocad

    Quote Originally Posted by Martin P
    Yep, linking would probably be the way to go I suppose - I just wish the lineweights that that our Autocad guy uses in 2004, would come into revit as lineweights..... (make that my wish now )
    You can adjust the settings of imported lineweights according to layer color from DWG/DXF in File--> Import/Export Settings and save or load the settings from a text file. I've used this and it works wonderfully.
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. Nested hyperlinked drawings
    By jaberwok in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-08-27, 08:12 PM
  2. 2014: Callouts
    By slovenc0417 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-01-28, 09:43 PM
  3. Cad Callouts
    By Revit for Breakfast in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-19, 05:37 PM
  4. Section Callouts in vanilla AutoCAD
    By bmckenzie in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-07-22, 08:13 PM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2006-02-27, 11:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •