Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: unable to copy from project file to family

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time Max Lloyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    782
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default unable to copy from project file to family

    Hi everyone.

    This feels like a newbie question, but here goes....

    I am trying to copy some drafting lines from a project file into a family file. When in the family file I want them to be symbolic lines.

    However, first problem is when I try to copy and paste, I have the error message saying 'can't copy from project to family'. I have managed to get around this by first pasting into a 'detail component' family file, then copying and pasting from there into my (happens to be plumbing fixtures) family file.

    Thats ok, but then the lines come in as model lines, whereas I want them as symbolic lines.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for converting the model lines to symbolic lines (or have a better workflow for this?)

    (the reason I am asking is that one of the users has made up a great library of components all drawn in 2d in a project file and there are about 100 different objects that I want to transfer into family files.....where they should have been created in the first place!)

    Any help would be greatfully appreciated!

    Regards,

    Max

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time Justin Marchiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Penticton, B.C., Canada
    Posts
    954
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    why not just have the detail component rest in the family and be done with it? i dont see the need to take the lines out of the detail family once you have already done the work.

    Justin

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Posts
    1,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    There are really two limitations here.
    1: You can't change a Drafting/Symbolic Line to a Model Line, or visa versa. And..
    2: You can't copy between a project and a family.

    The best answer I have found is create a new view in the project, crop it back just to the area of interest, and export to DWG. Now import the DWG into the family and make Symbolic Lines using the Pick tool. Then delete the DWG. Now you have a nice clean native Revit family to insert back into the project, after cleaning out all the Model line work. And hopefully the user will never again "draft" in Revit, they will make a family like they are supposed to.

    Best,
    Gordon

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to mruehr's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    223
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    Or make the lines a group
    save it out
    import group into family
    use pick tool

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time Max Lloyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    782
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    Thanks guys.

    I was aware of using the pick tool, but was really hoping to not have to re-trace over all of the elements.

    It would be great if the pick tool could work with a crossing window selection instead of just an individual pick.....(btw, I do know about the 'tab' function to select things in chains, but a window selection would be even better for tracing.)

    I will try Justin's idea of using it as a detail component nested into the family. I had thought of that, but was simply trying to avoid having to create so many files.

    Shame you can't simply convert model lines to symbolic!

    Guess its simply best to do things right in the first place......

    Regards,

    Max

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time Gadget Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
    Posts
    607
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    Now, I don't know if that would work for the lines, but you CAN "save" the in-place family in your project file into a Family file... with a trick.

    The trick is that while in the in-place family EDIT MODE in your project, highlight all the objects and copy them into a clipboard (<CTRL> <C>).

    Go to your Family file (in the same instance of REVIT - second file opened) and paste them there (<CTRL> <V>)...

    It works for "saving" in-place family solids into "stand-alone" families, so maybe it would also work for the lines...

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time clog boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Probably near a PC.
    Posts
    843
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    What's wrong with import it as a detail component, no tracing at all, and place a masking region under it? Your question is not a n00b question at all, you're just cleaning up after a n00b mistake. No matter how great his families are.

    Anyhow, as it seems the pick tool is your way to go. There's another aftermoon of mind-numbing work fer ya (or have a trainee do it, as it will teach him the bliss of doing it right the first time)

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time Max Lloyd's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    782
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: unable to copy from project file to family

    Quote Originally Posted by bram.weinreder View Post
    or have a trainee do it, as it will teach him the bliss of doing it right the first time)
    The trainee has just been trained..... (should keep them busy for a while!)

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to copy elements error while using Insert from File command
    By mzabritski in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2012-02-10, 08:59 PM
  2. Unable to insert family into project
    By jsteinhauer in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-03-02, 09:07 PM
  3. How to copy specific family types from one project to another?
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-02-18, 10:13 PM
  4. Copy a project into a new template file?
    By still.james in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-13, 03:02 AM
  5. Copy Family from one project to another?
    By BomberAIA in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-10-14, 01:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •