Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Standard Checker Issue

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Standard Checker Issue

    I have a dimstyle ( a few actually ) where all the line work is 'bylayer' and the text is set to a specific color. My problem is when I run the standards checker, the text in all my dimensions change color to match the linework. Strange thing is when you check the dimstyle, it's set correctly. The only way I've found to get it to display correctly is to open the dimstyle manager, pick the dimstyle, click 'modify' then hit ok. I don't even have to change anything but just by opening up the dimstyle and closing it make the dimensions display properly. Has anyone else run into this? Is there something I'm doing wrong?

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    UPDATE:

    I've narrowed it down a little more. I'm not having problems with the standards checker. My problem occurs after running the layer translator.

    Any ideas?

  3. #3
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,131
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by jmctamney View Post
    UPDATE:

    I've narrowed it down a little more. I'm not having problems with the standards checker. My problem occurs after running the layer translator.

    Any ideas?
    Check your settings in the Layer Translator dialog. Uncheck the force color to ByLayer.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    Check your settings in the Layer Translator dialog. Uncheck the force color to ByLayer.
    That was it. I actually figured it out just before lunch. It's amazing how things come to you once you step away from it for a minute or two. What I still don't understand is how it can change the text color to 'bylayer' but the dimstyle still has the color set to white (in this example). I think I'll add it to my list of AutoCAD "features" I don't understand.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Posts
    271
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by jmctamney View Post
    That was it. I actually figured it out just before lunch. It's amazing how things come to you once you step away from it for a minute or two. What I still don't understand is how it can change the text color to 'bylayer' but the dimstyle still has the color set to white (in this example). I think I'll add it to my list of AutoCAD "features" I don't understand.
    It's because when you set a text color, you're changing the layer color of just the text object. So when you tell it to force color by layer, it changes the text's color to that of the layer your dim is set to.
    One of those things I wish we could fix without exploding...

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    That makes sense but the part that gets me is that it doesn't change the color in the dimstyle. If it is indeed setting everything to bylayer one would think the color in the dimstyle would be change to bylayer as well.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Posts
    271
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    It changes the objects to Bylayer, so the styles will remain the same, but the objects' styles get overridden by the object's layer color.
    I really don't like it either, makes my job so much harder.
    What I want to know is, why don't they allow you to set a LAYER for your text, and only allow you to set a color? You're allowed to do it for different parts of surfaces and alignments, why not leaders with text?

  8. #8
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,131
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Because surfaces and alignments are not native vanilla AutoCAD entities.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Harold Pei Jr View Post
    What I want to know is, why don't they allow you to set a LAYER for your text, and only allow you to set a color? You're allowed to do it for different parts of surfaces and alignments, why not leaders with text?
    Sounds like a wish list item!!

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Posts
    271
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Standard Checker Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    Because surfaces and alignments are not native vanilla AutoCAD entities.
    But I believe dimensions are.

Similar Threads

  1. Standard Issue...
    By nightNday in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-02-19, 03:23 PM
  2. Error obtaining plugin for Standard Checker
    By Jack Cheong in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-03, 12:15 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-04-28, 11:17 AM
  4. Titleblock - issue date and type of issue placed in issue column
    By jdrexler in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-04-10, 05:01 PM
  5. BUG in the standards checker?
    By Spectrefish in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-06-16, 07:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •