Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: error code bypass?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Wishing I was home in Colorado
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default error code bypass?

    Hello

    I'm new to this forum. I've been working a bit with writing routines in VB. I use AutoCAD Map 5. I am by no means an expert. Far from it.

    I've run into a problem that I hope someone can answer for me.

    During some of the batch routines that I have which perform specific tasks, I sometimes get an error on certain maps. This error causes the macro to stop and pops up a dialog box which prompts me to hit the "OK" button. I would like to bypass this error if possible so that the macro will continue to run without waiting for me to hit the "OK" button. (To track down and fix the error on hundreds of maps would be too time consuming)

    I have been told that the error is likely an internal MAP error so I was hoping that someone here could help me.

    Is there a way that I can place code in my macro that would allow me to bypass this error? (The error is consistant. It is always ERRCODE; Value: 786434.)

    Something along these lines:
    If err.Number=786434 then
    Msgbox "Error occured with internal MAP error number: " & err.Number
    else
    <do your things here>
    end if

    Can anyone help me with this?

    I appreciate your help.

    Mike

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    Here is my standard error handling. Don't assume though, that is just a Map error. Its more likely that you haven't accounted for all the situations your code is running into. By adding this code to each of your procedures, you will be able to track down those kinds of errors. Note that the flow control is designed so that if an error is generated in this procedure, the msg tells you the context of the error, i.e. the procedure name. The first time you run this, you may get an error that you can fix with your code. Uncomment the Case Is statement and change it to handle this newly identified error and change the main procedure to prevent such errors. You may run into other errors as you develop your application. When you do, just add another Case Is statement.

    Code:
    Public Sub ErrorTest()
        On Error GoTo Err_Control
        'Main process
    
    Exit_Here:
        Exit Sub
    Err_Control:
        Select Case Err.Number
        'Add your Case selections here
        'Case Is = 1000
            'Handle error
            'Err.Clear
            'Resume Exit_Here
        Case Else
            MsgBox Err.Number & ", " & Err.Description, , "ErrorTest"
            Err.Clear
            Resume Exit_Here
        End Select
    End Sub
    PS, Search the ATP archives for my vba class where I address error handling.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Wishing I was home in Colorado
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    Thank you for the reply. Of course when it comes to me - I rarely get things correct the first time. I have read your reply - and understand it for the most part - but I'm not quite getting it to work for me. Can you tell me from the code below what I have done wrong? The macro still runs - but the error dialog box (for Error code 786434) still pops up. Have I placed the error handling incorrectly:

    Code:
    Dim OutputFolder As String
    Dim Inputfolder As String
    '*************************************************************************************************************
    Sub CreateGrayBackgroundDrawing()
         Inputfolder = BrowseForFolderF("Select Input folder")
         OutputFolder = BrowseForFolderF("Select Output folder")
         XRefFolder Inputfolder
         MsgBox ("Complete")
    End Sub
    '*************************************************************************************************************'
    Private Function BrowseForFolderF(ByVal msg As String) As String
        Dim oBrowser, folderObj, folderAcpt As Object
        Dim folderStr As String
        Set oBrowser = ThisDrawing.Application.GetInterfaceObject("Shell.Application")
        Set folderAcpt = oBrowser.BrowseForFolder(vbOKOnly, msg, vbDefaultButton3, 0)
        With folderAcpt
        Set folderObj = .Self
        folderStr = folderObj.Path
        End With
        Set folderObj = Nothing
        Set folderAcpt = Nothing
        Set oBrowser = Nothing
        BrowseForFolderF = folderStr
    
    End Function
    '*************************************************************************************************************'
    Private Function XRefFolder(dirpath As String)
        Dim objFolder
        Dim objFile
        Dim varFs() As Variant
        Dim m_objFSO, n, m_lngFileCount
             
        Set m_objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
        Set objFolder = m_objFSO.GetFolder(dirpath)
        
          Dim Gumby As String
          Dim Pokey As Variant
          Gumby = "The drawing for area_"
          Pokey = objFolder.Name
    
           For Each objFile In objFolder.Files
             On Error GoTo Err_Control
             tmpFile = objFile.Name
             If LCase(Right(tmpFile, 4)) = ".dwg" Then
                   
                Dim xrfilename As String
                  xrfilename = dirpath & "\" & tmpFile
                Dim blkname As String
                  blkname = tmpFile
                  
                Dim InsertPoint(0 To 2) As Double
                Dim insertedBlock As AcadExternalReference
                Dim tempBlock As AcadBlock
    
                InsertPoint(0) = 0: InsertPoint(1) = 0: InsertPoint(2) = 0
                Set insertedBlock = ThisDrawing.ModelSpace.AttachExternalReference(xrfilename, blkname, InsertPoint, 1, 1, 1, 0, False)
                Set tmpFile = Nothing
                
             End If
                
        Next objFile
        
        Set objFolder = Nothing
        Set objFile = Nothing
        CheckFolder = varFs
        
        outfile = OutputFolder & "\" & Gumby & Pokey
        ThisDrawing.SaveAs outfile
        
    Exit_Here:
        Exit Function
    Err_Control:
        Select Case Err.Number
        'Add your Case selections here
        Case Is = 786434
            'Handle Error
            Err.Clear
            Resume Exit_Here
        Case Else
            MsgBox Err.Number & ", " & Err.Description, , "ErrorTest"
            Err.Clear
            Resume Exit_Here
        End Select
        
    End Function
    (I have also included a jpg of the error message that I receive)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    That is definitely a Map error. I couldn't find any info in adesk's kb on it and I don't see anything in your function that would generate an adequery. What I would do next is set a breakpoint at the beginning of your function and step through the code until you find the exact line that causes the error.

    As far as the error handler goes, it would only work for unhandled errors. Map is handling the error and pops the dialog, so the only thing you can do is correct what is causing the error. It might be something in the drawing or the program's installation. The class names are stored in the registry at hkey_classes.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Wishing I was home in Colorado
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    OK - that makes a lot of sense. That's the information that I was looking for. The drawings in which I am finding the errors are somewhat numerous so I was looking for a way to bypass the error as opposed to fixing the individual issues. It seems that there is some sort of hidden residue left in the drawings that cannot be purged out and won't go away when removing the filters or WBLOCKing the drawing etc. Basically those particuar drawings will simply need to be recreated from scratch.

    Thank you very much for the help and the information. I appreciate it.

    Mike

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    Have you tried auditing the dwg?
    C:> ED WORKING....

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Wishing I was home in Colorado
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    mmmmm, I'm not exactly sure which routine you are referring to. I have run Recover as well as routines that purge everything and delete all the layer filters etc. Is there another audit routine that I'm unaware of?

  8. #8
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: error code bypass?

    The AUDIT command is listed right next to RECOVER under File>Drawing Utilities.
    C:> ED WORKING....

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-11-12, 11:12 PM
  2. error in my code
    By d_m_hopper in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-08, 04:30 PM
  3. Sample code Error
    By r.vetrano in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-09, 11:42 AM
  4. ERROR CODE
    By LABELED1US in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-03-19, 03:57 PM
  5. Unknown error code 203?
    By ajtrahan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-12-09, 07:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •