See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Model lines <-> Detail lines

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Posts
    86
    Login to Give a bone
    5

    Default Model lines <-> Detail lines

    It isn't possible to change model lines directly into detail lines or vice versa.

    Until now, we have used this technique:
    1. Make a view that just contains the relevant lines.
    2. Save the view as a DWG.
    3. Import the DWG. If you need drafting lines, check 'Current View Only' (Uncheck for model lines)
    4. Explode the DWG.

    But now, we've found a new way:
    1. Cut the lines to the clipboard.
    2. If you need model lines, start a new sketch-based model element (e.g. a Floor); If you need drafting lines, start a new Filled Region.
    3. Paste the clipboard contents into the sketch of the Floor or Filled Region.
    4. Select the lines again, and copy to the clipboard.
    5. Quit the Floor or Filled Region
    6. Paste the lines back into the model.

    It seems as though, when you copy lines out of a model-sketch, they become model lines, and when you copy them out of a filled-region-sketch, they become drafting lines.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to dfriesen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    470
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    OOooo, very clever! Thanks for that tip!
    Daniel Friesen
    I could? I don't think so...

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time clog boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Probably near a PC.
    Posts
    839
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    I wanted to have known that a year ago, and at least once a month from then. TYVM!!
    LinkedIn

    "Too many variables!" - Mordin

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    Now that's what I've been looking for in a while thanx

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    98
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    NICE!!.......................................

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time Elmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    959
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    Never noticed that. Good fined!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    Wow - what a great tip! Thanks!!

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    810
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    Good find!
    Of course, there should be a button to do it autmoatically

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to Merlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    404
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    I LIKE it!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: Model lines <-> Detail lines

    Wow,so great!
    Thanx.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Cannot Convert Model Lines to Detail Lines
    By antman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-10-08, 05:10 PM
  2. Model Lines vs. Detail Lines Interesting
    By dduarte in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2009-08-06, 04:03 PM
  3. Ability to convert detail lines to model lines and vice versa
    By revit.wishlist1942 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-10, 10:11 AM
  4. Turn model lines to detail lines.
    By dpasa in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-04, 01:26 PM
  5. Changing Model lines to detail or symbolic lines
    By Jason in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-05-21, 10:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •