Thread: Mr SID Image attachement Creates Huge Delays

Login to Give a bone

Default Mr SID Image attachement Creates Huge Delays

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting a question, typically I can find a simallar problem to my own but not in this particullar case. Currently my self as well as others in my office are experencing 30-50min waits for Mr SID image insertions into Autocad Civil 3D 2008. These Mr SID aerials are of our entire county and as large as 2 GB. The proceedure we use to attach is through Map/Image Insert/ which after selecting the image should bring up the Image Correlation Window, but in my case it take about 30min at best for that window to come up. Detaching the image takes up to 30min as well. Keep in mind these are blank clean drawings that I am trying to insert into. Part of the need for these aerials is the coordinate system that comes along with the Mr SID aerials, which is needed to query in GIS contours. That is why we use Map/Insert Image/.

So this brings me to my question, is there an optimal system hardware setup or Autocad Civil 3D 2008 setting to improve the performance. We are currently using computers with the spec's listed below as computer 1.

Computer 1 (the slow one)
    Intel Pentium IV 2.80 GHz
    ATI FireGL 3100 Graphics Card
    2.0 GB RAM
    80 GB Hard drive

To through a wrench in the mix one guy here at my office has the black sheep of computers which is completely different than everyone else and experiences no delay what so ever. It literally takes him seconds to perform the same insertion. The spec's of his computer are listed below as computer 2.

Computer 2
    Intel Pentium IV 3.00 GHz
    Intel R 82915G/GB/910GL Express Graphics Card
    1.0 GB RAM
    80 GB Hard drive

This just doent make any sense, someone please help!!

Thanks,

Derek

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Mr SID Image attachement Creates Huge Delays