Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Element Error Messages

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Element Error Messages

    I currently have a file which appears to have a corrupt element in it.
    Upon opening of the file an error message window pops up stating there is a corrupt element and id's it with a number like 'Element 11245667'.

    Is there a way of actually identifing what an elements id corresponds to in the real world though?..ie is it a generic family component i may have made wrong, as a generic number like the above does not help me at this point.

    Anyone had anything similar or have some advise here...currently i have to go back to a previous backup file and try to eliminate the corrupt element by trial and error....very slow

    cheers

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dhurtubise's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Somewhere in the BIM world
    Posts
    3,792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Element Error Messages

    If you can open a backup, go to Tools - Elements ID's - Select by ID. Input that number. Revit will get it for you

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-06
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Element Error Messages

    Great,

    Will give that a go...

    Thanks for that.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Posts
    78
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Element Error Messages

    We had this problem recently and when we went back to the backp-ups they would give us the same error even though the error message just occured in the currant model. We found it almost impossible to identify what Element "533948" was and had to carefully search the model to find out what was deleted - a time consuming and error prone method!

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to FOUTJM's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    the island
    Posts
    237
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Element Error Messages

    revit will delete the corrupt elements. if there is more than one you will have to save off recovery files every time revit opens the file and each time it will delete a different corrupt file(it wont let you open the revit file completely) we have found this to be related to hatch patterns in CAD. if you delete or explode all hatch patterns it should work like butter.
    J Fout
    Artist, Revit Grunt

    "it is not the answer i seek, but to understand the question".

    @scribldogomega

Similar Threads

  1. Error Messages when debugging
    By Ukemi72 in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-03-23, 04:25 PM
  2. Error Messages
    By clark.fillinger in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-25, 05:07 PM
  3. Error messages
    By dkriete in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-10-01, 07:40 PM
  4. Error Messages
    By DanielleAnderson in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-12-14, 07:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •