Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Convert polyline to Arc

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to whittendesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    330
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Convert polyline to Arc

    Usually it's the other way around, but I need my lines to be converted from a polyline to an arc.

    This is the situation. I work for a granite manufacturing company. We get sink dxf files from manufacturers and the one I'm working on now is a Kohler. Kohler made a nice curvy sink and made the lines a polyline. Problem is our cnc program will take all those small control ends and stop the program at the first control grip. So, it basically is a useless file for us. I've tried spline, which I can make rather easily, but not sure how to convert either a spline or polyline to the raw arcs. Our cnc program recognizes lines and arcs and thats it.

    Maybe it's not even possible. I'm hoping it is.

    If someone has a miracle on this, I'd sure appreciate it.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    Explode the polyline.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to whittendesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    330
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    I've tried this but what will happen is it will give us a billion little lines and our cnc will pause at the end of each line.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    Aside from drawing new ARCs on top of the linework given to you, I can't think of any way to do this, even with a program because there are simply too many variables to consider when trying to figure out what the original ARCs were. Can't you request another type of file from them? Do THEY even use ARCs?

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    355
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    Sounds like someone took a polyline and pedit-splined it, when you exlode it you end up with a billion little lines; or took a spline and converted it to a polyline- same results. It may be easiest to redraw the shape with arcs and lines.You can also use polylines with polyarcs, when you explode them they become lines and arcs.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to whittendesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    330
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    *sigh* I know about 1% of the AutoCAD commands. The pline and arc command should work just great. Thank you for the education. That will greatly increase the conversion time.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to ekubaskie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    324
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    It's probably a splined pline that has been trimmed or broken.

    If you have a seat of AutoCAD Map (or download a 30-day trial?) you could use Map's drawing cleanup tool to weed out extra points.

  8. #8
    All AUGI, all the time SRBalliet's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Near Christiansburg, VA Looking for a closer job!
    Posts
    500
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Convert polyline to Arc

    Quote Originally Posted by whittendesigns View Post
    I've tried this but what will happen is it will give us a billion little lines and our cnc will pause at the end of each line.
    ToolPac by Dotsoft has a conversion command "Segments to Arcs". It will convert a bunch of little lines (you select which ones you want) and it converts them into one arc.
    <><
    Steve Balliet
    Craig Co., VA
    Civil 3D, Mechanical 2012

Similar Threads

  1. Convert to Polyline
    By BILLYJOW in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-12-26, 03:33 PM
  2. Convert a Polyline to a 3D polyline?
    By Mr Cory in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-11, 08:22 PM
  3. Convert 3D Polyline to 2D Polyline
    By kyleschmeusser in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-02-14, 07:08 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-06-29, 09:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •