Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: UCS Permanently OFF

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    216
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default UCS Permanently OFF

    I have searched the system variables but haven't found what I am looking for. I am wanting to turn the UCS permanently off. When I open a drawing I go to View and turn it off, but it gets old doing that everytime I open a drawing. Then when I close the drawing and re open it is back. Is there a way to instead have it always off, but let me turn it on when I need it. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,505
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    I have searched the system variables but haven't found what I am looking for. I am wanting to turn the UCS permanently off. When I open a drawing I go to View and turn it off, but it gets old doing that everytime I open a drawing. Then when I close the drawing and re open it is back. Is there a way to instead have it always off, but let me turn it on when I need it. Thanks in advance!
    You can have that variable set in an "Acaddoc.lsp", which will set that every time you open a drawing.
    (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0)

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    216
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    You can have that variable set in an "Acaddoc.lsp", which will set that every time you open a drawing.
    (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0)
    But would you have to be familiar with writing lisp routines to do that?

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    You can have that variable set in an "Acaddoc.lsp", which will set that every time you open a drawing.
    (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0)
    that doesnt quite sound like the problem, if you change it off in the drawing and then save and exit, then reopen the same drawing, it should stay off, maybe there is a routine turning it back on everytime you open a drawing

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    216
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    that doesnt quite sound like the problem, if you change it off in the drawing and then save and exit, then reopen the same drawing, it should stay off, maybe there is a routine turning it back on everytime you open a drawing
    I take it back, if I save with it being off it will not be on when I re-open. I thought it did, but I still would like to know if there is a variable to always have it off.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-04
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    216
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    You can have that variable set in an "Acaddoc.lsp", which will set that every time you open a drawing.
    (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0)
    I took a .lsp in the support folder and copied it with a new name, then put in the (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0) and it worked somewhat. It turned off the UCS in the layout I that defaulted to come open, but the UCS was still there in the model. So it looks like it turns it off in the Layout/Model that opens but that is it. So I am wondering if there is a system variable for it to always be off.

    But I did find that useful for other things. What would be the code if a variable has the options 0, 1, and 2? I made one for IMAGEFRAME to be 0 by default but it didn't work on that one.

  7. #7
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    I take it back, if I save with it being off it will not be on when I re-open. I thought it did, but I still would like to know if there is a variable to always have it off.

    You can add the line to your acaddoc.lsp, as above. you can also set it as off in your template drawing, it will then be off in all new drawings.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,505
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    But would you have to be familiar with writing lisp routines to do that?
    Not really, check this thread out, and maybe do a search on the subject.

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    I take it back, if I save with it being off it will not be on when I re-open. I thought it did, but I still would like to know if there is a variable to always have it off.
    The variable on the command line is "UCSICON", "OFF", but the only way I know of to have that set every time is the acaddoc.lsp option.

    You could set up a template (.dwt) with it off and open that everytime?

  9. #9
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    I took a .lsp in the support folder and copied it with a new name, then put in the (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0) and it worked somewhat. It turned off the UCS in the layout I that defaulted to come open, but the UCS was still there in the model. So it looks like it turns it off in the Layout/Model that opens but that is it. So I am wondering if there is a system variable for it to always be off.

    But I did find that useful for other things. What would be the code if a variable has the options 0, 1, and 2? I made one for IMAGEFRAME to be 0 by default but it didn't work on that one.

    Really, all you had to do was add that line to your acaddoc.lsp file. If you don't have one, you can create it. To see if you have one, type (findfile "acaddoc.lsp") at the command line and see what it returns.

    As for layout/paper space; it's the same setvar, it would need to be set in different places, and for that, you'd need a little more advanced lisp...

  10. #10
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Wink Re: UCS Permanently OFF

    Quote Originally Posted by j.shields View Post
    I took a .lsp in the support folder and copied it with a new name, then put in the (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0) and it worked somewhat. It turned off the UCS in the layout I that defaulted to come open, but the UCS was still there in the model. So it looks like it turns it off in the Layout/Model that opens but that is it. So I am wondering if there is a system variable for it to always be off.
    UCSICON *is* the system variable, but each viewport has it's own setting (and MS is considered a viewport)

    Follow Brenda's advice and configure your template drawing with this turned off in each viewport.

    For existing drawings, you could create a shortcom or a toolbar button to quickly turn it off.

    Another idea would be to add (SETVAR "UCSICON" 0) to an existing shortcom. For example, if you defined "ZE" as Zoom, Extents using lisp like this:

    Code:
    
    (defun C:ZE ()
      (command "._zoom" "_E")
      (princ)
    )
    
    ;;; then you could modify this to...
    
    (defun C:ZE ()
      (setvar "ucsicon" 0)
      (command "._zoom" "_E")
      (princ)
    )
    
    ...which would turn it off each time you ran the shortcom ZE. Of course the shortcom could be for any frequently used command.
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 2008-02-05 at 06:59 PM.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a way to set Osnapz to 1 permanently?
    By kwong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2018-01-30, 04:51 PM
  2. how to use several DWG files permanently
    By t_khoshzaman in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-08-23, 08:55 PM
  3. Permanently set INSUNITS to 0
    By pamela.johnsen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-03-09, 09:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •