Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Can't view conduit from ACAD MEP 2008

  1. #1
    Active Member drafting1's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    84
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Can't view conduit from ACAD MEP 2008

    Hi,

    We are e-transmitting ACAD MEP Files showing electrical conduits to a General
    Contractor who uploads them into NavisWorks for coordination with other trades.

    The problem is the electrical conduit does not view properly in NavisWorks. The conduit
    appears as wireframe box shapes.

    We tried sending the files as conceptual objects and we also adjusted the display configurations in AutoCAD MEP 2008. No luck.

    As a side note, the general contractor does not own a liscence of AutoCAD.

    Any sugestions would be appreciated.
    Mike Bradford

  2. #2
    100 Club steve.perkio's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Riverside, California
    Posts
    140
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Can't view conduit from ACAD MEP 2008

    There should be an enabler that is required to render that proxy items in your catalog. See if you can find that and send it to the GC for their version of Navis.

    You can try to client export through Autocad, I recall that some of the trades are sending files that way to fix some of the rendering problems.

    You can also save a new copy of the drawing (to an upload file), explode it once and send that.

    There is another way, from AutoCad, type "nwdout" (You must have a valid publisher license running), save and send that file to import.

    You could use "nwcout" from the comand line (if you have a valid Roamer license) to generate a Navis Cache File to send to your contractors (for use with Roamer only, will not work with Freedom), your GC can then import the .nwc file just like they would import your .dwg file.

    One of these should get you up and running.

    Best of Luck,

    Perk

Similar Threads

  1. Flex conduit in MEP 2008
    By cjackdock in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-08-04, 04:32 PM
  2. 2011: view filter for conduit size
    By TJP1979 in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-09-26, 09:29 PM
  3. 2013: Conduit not visible in view unless view is set to
    By cparvez in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-05-14, 04:53 PM
  4. ACAD 2008 vba compatible with acad 2010?
    By Ammon in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-01-12, 10:27 PM
  5. 2D View on a MvPart Question in ACAD MEP 2008
    By Dr._House in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2008-11-04, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •