Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Object Enablers

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Object Enablers

    Which dbx files/folder does Navisworks use when importing a dwg?
    Program Files\AutoCAD? Program Files\Autodesk\Common? Program Files\Navisworks?

    I believe the correct enablers are installed because the consultant file (ABS 2007) opens correctly in AutoCAD ( 2008 ), but only shows me rectangles in Navisworks.

    I ran into this with a QuickPen file in the past and reinstalling the enabler resolved the issue... no luck this time around.

    Anyone run into this before?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Re: Object Enablers

    Hi Steve,

    I had a similar problem with an object enabler bringing in the proxy bounding boxes instead of the geometry (even though it loaded fine in AutoCAD) - I sorted it out by checking the registry values under HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\

    If it's for ACAD 2008 I think you check in the R17.0, R17.1, R17.2 subkeys, look under \Applications\ for your application name, and check the path to the *.dbx file is correct.

    If your app isn't listed, find out what the proxy application name is and add a new key of the same name. Then add a DWORD value for a named LOADCTRLS with value 1, and a new STRING value named LOADER with the path to the object enabler's *.dbx file (do a search for *.dbx in it's program directory).

    This worked for the object enabler I was using, hope it helps.

    Cheers,

    Rob

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-01
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Object Enablers

    Having some similar issues with our quick pen piping coming in as 2d wireframe. When we load the Navis should our quick pen viewer already be installed, or does it matter?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Re: Object Enablers

    I can't see a Quickpen plugin in the Navisworks 5.5 setup, so I would assume that it doesn't matter if Quickpen is loaded when Navisworks is installed, Navisworks will use the ObjectDBX registry keys to load any AutoCAD-compliant object enabler.

    If it's done the same thing as Prosteel's object enabler then it might be putting the wrong path name into the registry values I posted earlier. Prosteel put the correct values into 2 of the keys (17.1, 17.2) which was enough for AutoCAD to read the objects, but in the 17.0 key it had the completely wrong path to the dbx. Changing this path to the same as the other 2 fixed the problem.

    The other way you could do it - which is what we did until we fixed the registry, is simply to use the nwcout command to create the file - the geometry has already been created by AutoCAD & it passes it to the Navisworks exporter. If the command is unavailable in AutoCAD you'll need to appload \Program Files\NavisWorks 5\nwexport2008\nwexport2008.arx (or the 2006/2007 equivalent depending on your version).

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Object Enablers

    Quote Originally Posted by lawson View Post
    I can't see a Quickpen plugin in the Navisworks 5.5 setup, so I would assume that it doesn't matter if Quickpen is loaded when Navisworks is installed, Navisworks will use the ObjectDBX registry keys to load any AutoCAD-compliant object enabler.

    If it's done the same thing as Prosteel's object enabler then it might be putting the wrong path name into the registry values I posted earlier. Prosteel put the correct values into 2 of the keys (17.1, 17.2) which was enough for AutoCAD to read the objects, but in the 17.0 key it had the completely wrong path to the dbx. Changing this path to the same as the other 2 fixed the problem.

    The other way you could do it - which is what we did until we fixed the registry, is simply to use the nwcout command to create the file - the geometry has already been created by AutoCAD & it passes it to the Navisworks exporter. If the command is unavailable in AutoCAD you'll need to appload \Program Files\NavisWorks 5\nwexport2008\nwexport2008.arx (or the 2006/2007 equivalent depending on your version).

    Have you tried using the ProSteel 17.2 enabler on a computer with NavisWorks but not AutoCAD? I've been trying that here and NavisWorks still puts the ProSteel objects in as wireframe not solids.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Re: Object Enablers

    No I haven't tried it without AutoCAD loaded - might be worth adding in these registry keys as follows just in case Navisworks is reading the dbx location independently - the keys reference Autodesk not AutoCAD specifically, so it might work.

    (Acad 2006)
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R16.0\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R16.1\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R16.2\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\

    (Acad 200
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R17.0\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R17.1\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\ObjectDBX\R17.2\Applications\Pro_Stahl_3d\

    Under each key make sure the following 2 entries are in there:

    LOADCTRLS - REG_DWORD - 0x00000001 (1)
    LOADER - REG_SZ - c:\<path to ps3d_stl.dbx>

    Please let me know if it works!

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Object Enablers

    Just tried those registry changes and its not working - the ProSteel objects are still in wireframe and identified as KS_SHAPE objects, not ACAD PROXYs.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-04
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Re: Object Enablers

    There's also the same registry key layout under:

    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Navisworks Ltd\Navisworks\5.0\ObjectDBX\

    Except they also have a description value in there too, which I assume should be Pro_Stahl_3D. The loader value does not contain a path though, so maybe copy the ps3d_stl.dbx to the c:\program files\navisworks 5\ directory.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Object Enablers

    I am working with AutoCAD 2006 and most drawings I have to open come up with and ARX error, and states that I am missing the application Pro_Stahl_3D.

    Does anybody know where I can find and object enabler to fix this issue?

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Object Enablers

    Google for AutoPLANT and ProSteel object enablers. They are free to download from a number of sources. But first you should check to see if there are any objects in the files that require said object enablers - if not, you should take steps to remove the data from the files instead.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Object Enablers..
    By Dr._House in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-10-17, 05:01 PM
  2. Object Enablers
    By art.theusch in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-05-19, 03:47 AM
  3. Object Enablers
    By David Haynes in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-06-14, 06:47 PM
  4. Beyond Object Enablers ....
    By rclayton in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-02, 03:56 PM
  5. Object Enablers
    By phil.72896 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-08-18, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •